Tripped breaker screws everything....helpp

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Ryanb000

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
Messages
178
I was watching a dvd on my hp pavillion a510n when my dad decided to flip the breakers, without telling me.. So when the power came back on and I turned the hp back on, it hung on the Blue "HP INVENT" screen with the boot options at the bottom which cannot be used. I know the hard drive isnt bad in it because I put it in a good working computer it worked just fine. What other problems may have occurred?

HP Pavillion a510n
XP Home


Thanks in advance

Ryan
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Boot from the XP CD, choose "R" for "Restore", and run chkdsk /p from the Recovery Console.
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Power outages can sometimes corrupt the CMOS memory too so you might have to reset it and reconfigure BIOS settings. I'd make your dad fix it.
 

Ryanb000

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
Messages
178
Well, my dad fixing it isnt an option i just moved out of his house and hes computer illiterate anyways, and I can usually figure this kind of thing out but not this time.

The person whom recommended me booting from the xp cd and restoring should know that I cannot locate or get ahold of an XP cd...
BUT, the screen that the computer hangs up on, it the screen with the RESTORE back to day one option on it. along with the boot menu and such, BUT I cannot push any buttons, its like frozen there. This is so irritating.
 

Ryanb000

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
Messages
178
so I need to put that console image on a cd (cd-(rw/r) or (dvd-(rw/r)...? which one? and then just put it into the broken one?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
The CD image is an iso image which you can burn to CD or CD-RW. Boot your machine from it, choose to repair, and load the Recovery Console. From there, you can make some repairs, including running chkdsk /p.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top