Trouble After Formating Drive C

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cam740

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2002
Messages
4
WORKING ON A DIFFERENT SYSTEM THAN MINE AND ENDED DOING A FORMAT ON C: ON A NORMAL START UP ALL I'M GETTING IS VERIFYING DMI POOL DATA AND C:\> DON'T KNOW WHAT IT IS ASKING FOR. ALSO CAN'T FIND THE RIGHT DRIVE LETTER. THIS SYSTEM IS AWARD/BIOS WITH WINDOWS 98. ANY SUGGESTIONS??
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2001
Messages
23
I believe many times after formatting, drive letters move up one leter; C becomes D, etc..
 

cam740

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2002
Messages
4
YES I HAVE MADE A START UP DISK WITH MY COMPUTER AND CAN GET INTO ALL THE OPTIONS, LIKE SAFE MODE. I DID TRY ALL THE LETTERS UP TO H. NO COMMANDS ARE WORKING ON THIS COMPUTER EXCEPT LIKE AUTOEXE AND FORMAT. DON[T KNOW THAT MUCH ABOUT THE WORKING OF A COMPUTER, THANKS FOR GETTING BACK WITH ME
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Maybe I'm not understanding something here but if you formatted the C: drive, then it's now an empty hardrive. Windows and all of the data on the drive is gone. You need to install Windows from the CD. Is that what you want to do, install W98 on the drive?
 

cam740

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2002
Messages
4
THIS IS MY NEPHEW'S COMPUTER AND IT WAS NOT WORKING AT ALL WHEN HE BOUGHT IT TO ME. I FOUND A WEB PAGE AND RESET ALL THE SETTING FOR BOIS AND CAME UP WITH MISSING PARAMETERS. COULDN'T FIND AN ANSWER TO THAT SO I DID A PRIMARY PARTITION AND IT STOP AT C: ALSO NOTICE WINDOWS 98 PAGE FLASH FOR A SPILT SECOND IN BACKGROUND WHEN TURNING POWER ON. I THOUGHT EVERYTHING WOULD OF BEEN EASED. DO YOU THINK THIS WAS NOT A FULL FORMAT? HE HAS A CD CALLED BITWARE WITH DRIVERS AND STUFF. COULDN'T GET IT TO TAKE IT FOR I WAS IN DOS AND NO OTHER WAY WORKS. ANY SUGGESTIONS?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi cam740, welcome to TSG........

If you'd drop to lower case letters, it would be much easier to read your posts....

Bitware isn't going to help you until you get an operating system installed on the computer......it is natural for you to see a windows splash screen if you formatted the hard drive with a windows boot disk....you need to restart the computer, with the windows boot disk, choose cdrom support, if that is how you plan on re-installing the operating system. Do you have a windows installation cd? or floppies?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2001
Messages
23
cam740- Please be aware that when you use all capital letters on a message that it signifies "shouting"!!!!!!!!
Also-please note that "BitWare", made by Cheyenne Software is an extremely good, pro, FAX program.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top