1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

trouble browsing

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by jackouille, Jan 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jackouille

    jackouille Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Hello,
    I have exactly the same problem.
    I have a sony SVE1712F1EW and it was working correctly during one month with internet (with a wireless connection). Since 2 days, i can't open an internet window. It 's still searching the adress and nothing happens. I check the connection and I have still full connection (total bars) to my network.
    I check with another PC and it works (I have access to internet ).
    In atttachment I put the text file with the ipconfig .
    Can you help me?
    Thanks,
    Jacques
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,067
    First Name:
    Terry
    I started your own thread for you here. That other thread starter may wake up and come back. :)

    Do you have the same problem with an ethernet connection?

    What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on the system?

    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from the PC manufacturer's web site. If you already have that one reinstall it anyhow in case it is corrupted.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista and 7 and 8.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  3. jackouille

    jackouille Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Hello,
    I tried with ethernet connection but it is still the same.
    No access to internet as I have connection to the network (and it works with my other PC).
    So, I think it comes from internet explorer or from TCP/IP protocol.
    I removed fire wall and antivirus protection (AVG free 2013).
    I tried your TCP/IP repair options as described butr it is still the same.
    I will send you later the command prompt screen of these commands as maybe problem occurs when I do this but I can't do this before this evening.
    Do you have another idea to help me?
    Maybe to help you, problem occured after installing open office(the latest version available). I removed the application but it doesnt 'change anything.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,067
    First Name:
    Terry
    Run the AVG Remover and the Removal Tool for whatever firewall you uninstalled. What firewall was it?
     
  5. jackouille

    jackouille Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    I try the remove of AVG and your tool with ipv4 and ipv 6 but nothing changed.
    I put a text file in attachment with the log of the different commands you gave.
    So, what can I do now?
    Firewall installed was the original one from windows. How I can remove everything for this?
    Thanks,
     

    Attached Files:

  6. jackouille

    jackouille Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    i put the log file from AVG remover in zip file.
    Hope it will help you
     

    Attached Files:

  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,067
    First Name:
    Terry
    The Windows firewall should cause no problems, and I do not think that you can remove it. How did you do that?

    Try the stack/WINSOCK repairs in Safe Mode.
     
  8. jackouille

    jackouille Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    I just put the firewall off, i didn't remove it.
    How can I start in safe mode with windows 8?
    Thankyou
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,067
    First Name:
    Terry
    Don't know; haven't yet tried. Think I saw somewhere that if F8 doesn't bring up a boot menu to try Shift + F8.
     
  10. davehc

    davehc Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,059
    First Name:
    David
    Easiest way is to open Msconfig - Boot tab, and make the safe mode option. - Don't forget to UNmark it after use!
    But how about installing Firefox and seeing if you can then access the web? At worst it will eliminate a possible problem with IE.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - trouble browsing
  1. erpuneet08
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    307
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085720

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice