1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Trouble Connecting to Internet through Router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by brocmandoo, Nov 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brocmandoo

    brocmandoo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    So I am in Japan with an obviously Japanese ISP.

    I have a DLINK DIR-625 Router.

    My router worked fine at a previous Japanese apartment. I just plugged in the modem, connected the router and presto.

    However, since I moved and recently got my internet hooked up, my router has stopped connecting me to the internet.

    If I plug my computer directly into my modem, everything is fine. When I plug my router into my modem, then try to access the internet either wirelessly or wired through the router I cannot. I can connect to the router fine, just the internet THROUGH the router is unavailable.

    I have tried power cycling, I have tried resetting my wireless router completely to default settings and nothing seems to resolve the issue.

    The only way I can successfully connect to the internet is by directly hooking into the modem. Then it is pain-free.


    Some Possibly Useful Information:


    [Local Connection WHEN Successfully Connected to the Internet Via Modem ONLY

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix: tcn.ne.jp
    Description: Atheros AR8131 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20)
    Physical Address: ‎BC-AE-C5-0B-46-CB
    DHCP Enabled: Yes
    IPv4 Address: 203.110.x.x
    IPv4 Subnet Mask: 255.255.254.0
    Lease Obtained: Friday, November 25, 2011 1:14:29 PM
    Lease Expires: Friday, November 25, 2011 2:14:29 PM
    IPv4 Default Gateway: 203.110.126.1
    IPv4 DHCP Server: 211.19.160.56
    IPv4 DNS Servers: 211.19.160.28, 211.19.160.29
    IPv4 WINS Server:
    NetBIOS over Tcpip Enabled: Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address: fe80::80f8:da70:a23b:ae25%11
    IPv6 Default Gateway:
    IPv6 DNS Server:


    DLINK ROUTER Info when Connected Wirelessly but NO access to internet:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix:
    Description: Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address: ‎48-5D-60-72-19-E8
    DHCP Enabled: Yes
    IPv4 Address: 192.168.0.173
    IPv4 Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained: Friday, November 25, 2011 1:07:12 PM
    Lease Expires: Saturday, November 26, 2011 1:28:00 PM
    IPv4 Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1
    IPv4 DHCP Server: 192.168.0.1
    IPv4 DNS Server: 192.168.0.1
    IPv4 WINS Server:
    NetBIOS over Tcpip Enabled: Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address: fe80::55a8:97a0:9a00:8486%10
    IPv6 Default Gateway:
    IPv6 DNS Server:



    My Router is currently WPA2 protected, but even without any security measures, still no connection is available.


    I would greatly appreciate ANY forthcoming help in this matter and will provide any additional information to the best of my ability when needed.

    Cheers!
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Have you logged into the router? What is the gateway set to there?

    Do you know the IP address to log into the modem?

    (I have hidden the last 2 numbers in your IP address. Not a good idea to make that public.)
     
  3. brocmandoo

    brocmandoo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Yes I have logged in to my router and attempted several things to try and resolve the issue, still no solution however.

    my default gateway here is:

    203.110.126.1

    Any other things I could do to assist the issue?

    . :)

    oh and thanks for the IP address catch...didn't even think about that!
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,929
    First Name:
    Terry
    Pretty sure that you know and are doing this already: power cycle the modem when switching the device connected to it.

    Clone the computer's MAC Address to the router's WAN in case the ISP is tracking the MAC Address of the device connected to the modem.
     
  5. brocmandoo

    brocmandoo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I cloned the MAC address, still no good.

    And I am power cycling it when I attempt to get the connection to work, but switching back to modem-computer does not require a power cycle.

    Thanks for the continued input though!

    Please keep offering suggestions, one is bound to work eventually. :)
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,929
    First Name:
    Terry
    I think that you partially answered this in post # 3, but I'll ask anyhow.

    When you connect the router to the modem what do you get in the WAN status? You should see an IP, Gateway and DNS server addresses the same as or very similar to the ones you posted in your initial post. If not, what?

    The router probably has some kind of log; any hints in there?

    If you have a good IP configuration in the router's WAN ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following commands:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    ping 192.168.0.173 (or whatever you current IPv4 address is)

    ping 192.168.0.1

    ping 8.8.8.8

    ping yahoo.com


    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  7. brocmandoo

    brocmandoo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Connection Type : DHCP Client
    Cable Status : Connected
    Network Status : Establishing (please wait...)
    Connection Up Time : N/A

    MAC Address : 48:5D:60:72:19:E8
    IP Address : 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask : 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway : 0.0.0.0
    Primary DNS Server : 0.0.0.0
    Secondary DNS Server : 0.0.0.0

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Broc>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Valeo
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : tcn.ne.jp
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8131 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Con
    troller (NDIS 6.20)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : BC-AE-C5-0B-46-CB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 48-5D-60-72-19-E8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::55a8:97a0:9a00:8486%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.177(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, November 28, 2011 9:59:07 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 9:59:07 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 239623520
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-5F-C5-C7-48-5D-60-72-19-E8

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{6CCD14D3-8EFF-4354-AE2F-A46A4B6DC168}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #5
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Broc>ping 192.168.0.177

    Pinging 192.168.0.177 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.177: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.177: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.177: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.177: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.177:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Users\Broc>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 5ms, Average = 1ms

    C:\Users\Broc>ping 8.8.8.8

    Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Broc>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


    C:\Users\Broc>





    The preceding was everything you asked for to the best of my knowledge.
     
  8. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    PS. It isn't the 192.168.x.x numbers that are of concern. It is your external IP as the internet sees your network, the IP address of the modem, actually, as seen from the internet and your ISP. All of us use the 192's for intranet and that is not normally accessible from outside.
     
  9. brocmandoo

    brocmandoo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I'm still extremely new to all this lol, just wanted to cover my bases.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,929
    First Name:
    Terry
    Unless you forgot that time to power cycle the modem I'd say the router's WAN port is defective. Make sure you have the latest firmware for the router, reset it to factory default settings, and unplug the modem for five minutes, just to be absolutely sure, and check the WAN status again.
     
  11. brocmandoo

    brocmandoo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    That didn't work.

    Is there anything I can else I can try to get this to work?

    The router worked FINE less than a week ago, and all I did was switch locations.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1028353

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice