1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Trouble with a Western Digital Internal Hard Drive...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by fbird62004, Oct 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fbird62004

    fbird62004 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    I bought a Western Digital Scorpio 320 GB SATA internal hard drive to back up some files. I'm trying to use it in an enclosure kit so i have an external hard drive. well i put the drive into the enclosure kit and my laptop installs the drivers. problem is, my computer doesn't recognize that there is an external drive at all. i know that the enclosure works cause i took another internal drive and filled that one up with files (granted the drives arent the same company...). so im just looking for some answers to make it work cause i really want to use this drive.
     
  2. Specsnow

    Specsnow

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    116
    Hi there,

    If the drive is new, it may not be formatted yet. It will install okay, but when you go to locate the drive in "My Computer", it will not show up because there is no partition on it to store anything. To do this, just run any partition program, such as Partition Magic, or you can use the "Disk Management" tool in the "Computer Management" window of Windows. (Right-click My Computer > Manage)

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. Nidge

    Nidge

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Is your laptop rated at 2.0 at the usb ports or is it 1.0? I ran into the same problem. You may have to go to best buy or Wal-mart or someplace like that and purchase a high speed hub. Even then, it takes a few seconds for your external hard drive to show up in Computer.
     
  4. Specsnow

    Specsnow

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    116
    Whether or not the USB is 2.0 or 1.1 will not matter because all USB hard drives and enclosures are backwards compatible. All that will affect is the speed at which data is transferred. Also, a hub won't help either if it is 1.1. A hub can make one 2.0 port into 4 (or more) and a 1.1 port into 4 (or more) but it cannot turn a 1.1 into a 2.0. That's not possible. You'd have to replace the USB board in the laptop with a new 2.0 one to do that, which is somewhat hard, and very costly (unless you do it yourself, which then will only cost about 50-80 dollars).

    Regardless, the USB class isn't a factor here.
     
  5. fbird62004

    fbird62004 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    thank you Specsnow...your advice helped me get my drive up and running...
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Trouble Western Digital
  1. kvandeloo63
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    83
  2. masud1234
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    142
  3. ltbubbas
    Replies:
    28
    Views:
    275
  4. Casualnova
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    181
  5. Allan Murray
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    103
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/757103

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice