trouble with internet explorer - File Association

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Dlite

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
10
i downloaded the sysinfo utolity like you said but unfortunitly i am unable to open it , as that is part of my problem. somehow internet explorer has taken control of all the programs i try and open. when i click on sonething to open it explorer opens a box asking to download what ever program it is im trying to use at the time but then it will not open it , it just keeps repeatly ask to downloas and open the program, until i just cancel it., i am using windows 7, i started with explorer 11, but thought maybe if i uninstalled that one maybe the explorer 8 wouldnt do the same thing, but it does. so i dont know what to do to correct this.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
what windows version are you running ?
when did this happen , do you remember doing anything particularly

it sounds like ALL your files have been associated with internet explorer - you can reset to use the default setting, however, would be useful to know what windows version is running

it may also be malware which has made a change to the PC , and so we may move to the malware forum, as i suspect you will not be able to run any of the malware programs , if .exe files are associated with internet explorer then they will not install and run
 

Dlite

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
10
what windows version are you running ?
when did this happen , do you remember doing anything particularly

it sounds like ALL your files have been associated with internet explorer - you can reset to use the default setting, however, would be useful to know what windows version is running

it may also be malware which has made a change to the PC , and so we may move to the malware forum, as i suspect you will not be able to run any of the malware programs , if .exe files are associated with internet explorer then they will not install and run

I am running windows 7, and i do think the files have been associated with explorer because when it happen i was trying to open a certain file and was asked what program i wanted to use to open it and i chose explorer, then that happened.
 

Dlite

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
10
try running scans with the onboard antivirus program for malware and also, do the same with malwarebytes. then download AdwCleaner this program requires a restart of the pc when the scan has finished.

i have run nortans and done a full systems scan and it did not fix the problem, and with this problem i can download the program but it wont open or run this way.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
have you tried a system restore to a date before you change the file associations

what was the file type you changed the default association to

you could open control panel - default programs and manually change them back

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Restore PC to an Earlier Date & Time

Windows 7
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/700-system-restore.html

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Dlite

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
10
have you tried a system restore to a date before you change the file associations

what was the file type you changed the default association to

you could open control panel - default programs and manually change them back

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Restore PC to an Earlier Date & Time

Windows 7
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/700-system-restore.html

------------------------------------------------------------------------
i tried doing system restore and it says it cant work, and i dont remember what the file type was
 

Dlite

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
10
the problem with all these is that i have to download the program which is fine , but then explorer does not let them run.
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
these should all run and shouldn't be affected by your exe problem,. what happens when you try to run them
what message do you get exactly
 

Dlite

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
10
its not really a messege , all it does after downloading is open a box which list the downloads and ask if i want to save or run the program . when i click run it just closes and reopens the list of downloads again
 

Dlite

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
10
ok microsoft fixit opened but it did not do anything, it brang up a box that says "this microsoft fixit has been processed" and then under that it says, "click to tell us what you think", and "click to get online help now" and "click to read more on microsoft fixit"
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
when you tried the fixexec from bleeping computer. did you try all 3 versions
normally the renamed one works
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top