1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Trouble with new machine

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by realdealgman, Aug 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. realdealgman

    realdealgman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Hello all,

    I just built a new machine.

    I have a crossfire ready ASUS mother board.
    ATI Radeon x1800 PCI-E
    AMD Athlon 64 3800+
    2GB Ram PC3200
    Windows XP Home SP2

    Heres the problem. After installing windows, I tried to update windows and had problems when installing the updates, alot of fails, I had to retry the update several times before it would take. Also I installed other programs very slowly. I think there may be a "write to the HDD" problem. Everything installs so slow. Even programs downloaded from internet. I think most of my drivers for just about everything hardware on this pc are generic windows drivers with exception to the motherboard items. Could there be a problem communicating with my HDD? I have SATA hardrive. It is plugged in the 1st SATA port. Windows loads ok. Also I get alot of random restarts that are no way connected to a heat issue, the serious error that recovers says it is an unknown driver error. Please Help.

    Thanks RDGM
     
  2. squidboy

    squidboy

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    403
    You definitely need to install any and all chipset/controller drivers for your Asus motherboard before you 'dive in' to any applications. These usually come on a CD packaged with your motherboard.
     
  3. kirken

    kirken

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    my asus board came with a cd with almost everything except display drivers ... should be easily done
     
  4. realdealgman

    realdealgman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    I did that....still i get tons of errors and nothing works. I will go through and see if i missed anything
     
  5. realdealgman

    realdealgman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    ok i just noticed something.........

    there are four RAM slots alternating in color

    Blue Black Blue Black

    I searched for certain errors on google.com concerning an installation of a program, the prgoram vendor indicated that misplacement of RAM and mismatching of RAM causes installation errors. So I read further into RAM placement on my mother board's instruction guide....(wow reading instructions actually helps) anyways I had the RAM placed wrong. I had one placed in a blue and one in the black next to it.

    When using two sticks It should be placed Blue/Blue not Blue/Black......

    In other words it should be placed in the 1st and third slots.....
    then fill the others starting with 2nd then 4th.....

    Well no more problems....

    Thanks guys for reading and replying

    RDGM
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/491305

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice