1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Trouble with Programs Hanging

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by green_eggs, Mar 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    Not quite back at square one as this recent test with another PSU has confirmed that the fault is not due to your PSU, so that has eliminated something else. The folder with the results when done with no Graphics card fitted was empty, but not to worry. The voltage readings for +12V and +5V are still way off so this has to be an inaccurate sensor.

    My suspicion now is that the error could well be motherboard related. There is very little else I can think of that has not already been tested.

    The only other thing I can think of is your chipset drivers, check these are up to date and all have been installed directly from the motherboard manufacturer's site.

    And just one other possible cause would be a conflict of security software, so you could try uninstalling Eset and running Microsoft Security Essentials instead.

    Follow this guide to uninstall Eset completely: Eset Uninstall instructions
    Install MSE from here: Microsoft Security Essentials

    Uninstall Spybot S&E, you must first disable Teatimer in the Task Manager.

    Then install the free version of Super Anti Spyware: Here

    Spybot S&D is a bit of a resource hog and not as highly rated as SAS so that would be a good move irrespective of the problems.

    If none of the above makes any difference then a motherboard fault would seem the most likely, but let us see a recent log from HJT so it can be checked for anything else. Please make sure you use the most recent version.
     
  2. green_eggs

    green_eggs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Thank you for the help. I will try using the other software programs and get back to you after testing it out for a bit. Should I leave Malwarebytes installed or remove that too?

    Attached in my hijackthis log.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    Your HJT log shows nothing of any significance.

    Malwarebytes is fine to run alongside any security software.

    Let us know how it goes.
     
  4. green_eggs

    green_eggs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    The problem actually does seem better since removing eset and installing MSE. I'd like to give it another day or two before I call it fixed since there's always been a bit of randomness in when I get hangs, but things are definitely looking up.

    Thank you so much for your help!
     
  5. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    You're welcome.

    Let us know if the problem returns.
     
  6. green_eggs

    green_eggs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    We can mark this thread as solved. I haven't had a single hang since uninstalling ESET.

    I can't thank you enough for your help, I never would have thought of that on my own. I've had Eset, Malwarebytes, and Spybot running on my laptop for years without issue; but for some reason Eset was definitely causing issues on this desktop.

    As an added bonus, I sometimes would have to refresh a page several times before it would load completely - but now I never have that issue either.

    Again thank you so much, I really appreciate all the time you put into helping me.
     
  7. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    You're welcome :).

    I have come across a couple of other people having the same problem with Eset so most likely they have produced a recent update that is causing conflicts on aome PC's.

    I should tell you that Spybot S&D is no longer a recommendable program mvps.org
    I would recommend you change to SuperAntiSpyware
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1044992