1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Trouble with resolution output from ASUS Laptop 2 TV Monitor

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Tacotris, Jul 23, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tacotris

    Tacotris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Alright, so I recently got a VGA cable so I can hook up my PC Laptop to my tv. It worked fine at first, but I needed to optimize the resolution to my TV. I set it to only show the screen on the TV, and accidentally chose a resolution unsupported by my TV. Now every time I plug in the VGA, that unsupported resolution is saved and outputs it, even though it doesn't work, and I cannot change it into a resolution that works because I can't see anything! How can I reset the saved resolution?
     
  2. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11,376
    First Name:
    Allan
    There's usually a Fn (Function) key + F key (the top row) combo that cycles between the different outputs, the correct F key may have a symbol showing 2 screens on it, if so just hold down the Fn key and press that F key until the laptop's screen comes on.
    You can try all the F keys if you can't spot the right one. Once you do that you should be able to change the TV output resolution.

    If you get stuck post the full model info of that laptop and we can try to help further.
     
    Tacotris likes this.
  3. Tacotris

    Tacotris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Thank you so much! I'll try it ASAP!
     
  4. Tacotris

    Tacotris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Didn't work, but the model is the ASUS x555l notebook.
     
  5. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11,376
    First Name:
    Allan
    Do you get nothing at all at power up, on TV or laptop ? If the TV is still connected to laptop switch laptop off, unplug the lead and switch laptop back on, any display now ?

    Ok that laptop uses the Fn + F8 keys, hold down Fn and tap F8, tap F8 again say 5 times, if no good release Fn and just tap F8. You can try it as soon as you switch it on, if no good it may have to get into windows first so switch on and wait a couple of minutes then try Fn + F8 and F8 alone again say 5 times.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1175043

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice