1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

trouble with sfc /scannow

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by oldmanlat, Sep 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. oldmanlat

    oldmanlat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Hi.
    I did a fresh complete install from Gateway Recovery CD.
    I didn't install any updates from Microsoft Windows update.
    I ran sfc /scannow and got the following messages at the end of the scan:
    "Insert your Windows XP Professional CD2 now."
    "You have inserted the wrong CD (i.e, a different Windows Product CD than the version installed)"
    "The CDROM drive in your system is not functioning"
    After looking more clodely, I saw the following:
    Windows System Information reports:
    OS name Microsoft Windows Professional
    5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 Buils 2600
    This is what it says on the Gateway Recovery CD label that came with the system:
    "Gateway
    Windows XP Media Center Version 2005
    with Update Rollup 2
    Operating System Disc"
    I went to Microsoft and found a workaround article.
    I went to the C:\Windows\Inf folder, and edited "Fp40ext.inf" and "Ims.inf" files, changing
    all references from "Professional" to "Home" under the (Strings) heading.
    That didn't work.
    I don't want to do another complete XP install. How can I get sfc /scannow to find the correct
    dlls for rebuilding the dll cashe?
    Thanks,
    oldmanlat
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Is that the disk that came with your system? Or did you install from another disk?
     
  3. oldmanlat

    oldmanlat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Yes, I'm using the disk that came with the system. Gateway support said I should do a restore with backup from the recovery disk. I would still have to re-install apps and settings. That is not an option.
    Is there a way I can download, or obtain a disk that offers me a copy of XP that has the "Repair" option? I can't find it on the menu when booting to recovery disk.
    Thanks again,
    oldmanlat
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Um, you'll want to edit and remove your product key.
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/754835

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice