1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Trouble with Windows XP Mode (virtual machine)

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by corgwork, Aug 13, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. corgwork

corgwork Thread Starter

I've been using the XP mode on Windows 7 for a few years now and all of a sudden the last few times it's prompting me for a password to log in. Also it had a error message saying integration features not working. And the time it takes to start the Virtual Machine is very very long. What to do?

Noticed when closing the virtual machine it says "hibernating". Is that supposed to be that way?

I tried restarting the virtual machine several times but it still is asking for password.

---

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU 540 @ 3.07GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3895 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 1723 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 217 GB (34 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 304Ah
    Antivirus: Avast Antivirus, Enabled and Updated

2. corgwork

corgwork Thread Starter

3. Lanctus

Lanctus

Did you previously set up a password for it and it doesn't work anymore, or was there not a password set up? We cannot help with password issues, as there is no way to verify actual ownership. However, disabling the integrated features can clear up a few issues.

4. Johnny b

Johnny b

First Name:
    John
    I have XP mode on one of my Win 7 pro computers. Didn't use it much but I noticed it would 'close' and go into hibernation and come out with no ill effects after Win 7 was rebooted.