TrueImage 11 home-how to restore image

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

brent2

hello,
I am new to imaging although quite experienced in many pc areas. I have just purchased this program and got it to successfully create and verify images onto external hard drives. My question of which I cannot really find an answer is that I have one hard drive and my OS is on one of two partitions, the C drive, 24GB. The other D (drive) partition is just used for storage.
If my C drive became corrupted could I then restore its image from my external HD, would the corrupted C have to be first wiped clean or would the image overwrite it. Would it do this from windows or would I have to use the boot disc?
It says there must be no activity on the hd when the image is being restored, how do I do this?
Thanks.
brent2

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
You would have to run it from CD and you should check that doing so can read the external drive with the images before you need it.
No it will overwrite.
No activity means that you cannot be running from that partition - which you wouldn't be if booting from CD.

brent2

Hello, Much appreciated, you have made it all clear to me now, thanks.
brent2

Recovery is the point, of course, so it's good practice to boot from the CD and be sure that your devices are all loaded (and have the proper drivers in Acronis) so that you can restore when you need to.

brent2