TrueVector Internet Monitor Problem! HELP!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TONKPILS

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
2
Ok, I used to have ZoneAlarm Pro and SpywareDoctor installed on my computer and they were both working fine until yesterday I got an error message on my spywaredoctor and then I hit ok to fix it. Then all of the sudden my ZoneAlarm started telling me that the TrueVector Internet Monitor had shutdown and it asked me if I wanted to restart it, so i hit Yes and it kept on asking me until I hit no and then ZoneAlamr just stopped working completly. I tried uninstalling both programs and Installing ZoneAlarm back, but it keeps on telling me when its configuring ZoneAlarm right when it hits 100% of installation it tells me that it was unable to connect to the TrueVector Services and it was unable to configure the config files and then it gives me another erorr that ZA can't process the config files. Then the installations "successfully" completes and it asks me to reboot my computer and then when i do it keeps on telling me that the TrueVector is shut down and when i hit yes it asks me again. Now I tried doing a clean uninstall deleting all the folders that ZoneLabs tells you to delte and everything you need to do to completely uninstall zonealarm but the problem still persists. I tried shutting down the True Vector but it doesn't work. WHAT DO I DO! I really need the ZoneAlarm and I can't find a way to install it back up and make it run correctly.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2004
Messages
12,302
try installing spyware doctor and then changing its settings to allow zonealarm!
 

TONKPILS

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
2
I tried doing that, theres no place in spyware doctor that says ZoneAlarm or any instances of it are blocked.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2004
Messages
12,302
Also open up zonealarm and make sure you have not blocked anything to do with ZA?
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
14,681
If you're comfortable with editing the registry, you can follow these instructions I found over at CastleCops to completely remove ZoneAlarm. If you've attempted to uninstall ZA or remove it in Safe Mode at all, you must install it again before starting these directions.
  • Run ZoneAlarm and go to Overview>>Preferences
  • Uncheck Load at Startup
  • Restart your computer
  • Go to Start>>Programs>>Zone Labs>>Uninstall

    Say Yes when asked to Delete all files
    Allow TrueVector Service to be shutdown if asked
  • Restart your computer
  • Go to Start>>Search or Find>>Files
  • Ensure that Location is set to All Local Drives
  • Search your computer for the following folders and delete them if found:

    zonelabs
    "zone labs"
    "Internet logs"
  • Search for the following files and delete any found within the Windows or Temp folders:

    vsdata.dll
    vsdata95.vxd
    vsdatant.sys
    vsmon.*
    vsmonapi.dll
    vsnetutils.dll
    vspubapi.dll
    vsutil.dll
    zaplus.*
    zapro.*
    zllictbl.dat
    zlparser.dll
    zonealarm.exe
  • Search your computer for the following files and delete any found within the Program Files folder:

    zapro
    zonealarm
    "zonealarm pro"
  • Go to Start>>Run>>regedit
  • Search for and delete any of the following keys found:

    ZAMailSafe
    ZoneAlarm
    Zone Alarm
  • Search for and delete any of the following values found:

    vsdata.dll
    vsdata95.vxd
    vsdatant.sys
    vsmon.*
    vsmonapi.dll
    vsnetutils.dll
    vspubapi.dll
    vsutil.dll
    zaplus.*
    zapro.*
    zllictbl.dat
    zlparser.dll
    zonealarm.exe
  • Delete the contents of C:\Windows\Internet Logs\ and C:\winnt\Internet Logs\
  • Go to Start>>Control Panel>>Add or Remove Programs and uninstall Spyware Doctor
  • Restart your computer
  • Run HijackThis and click Do a system scan and save a log file
  • Your HijackThis log will open in Notepad. Post the contents of the log here

We'll see how those scans come back, then we can try reinstalling ZA and SpywareDoctor.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
1
I have the same problem. Overnight the system will hang and in the morning I find the following: "True Vector Internet Monitor has shut down Do I want to restart?" But it will not restart. If I reboot all is well. During the day the use is great---no problem even on a restart. But overnight if left on this error appears.

Have you fixed your problem? How? HELP ALSO!
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2004
Messages
12,302
please start a new thread or you may get overlooked, this thread is very old!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top