1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Trusted Installer queries

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Shortcutter, May 18, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Shortcutter

    Shortcutter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    286
    My husband has been having a lot of trouble with his computer and this has worsened since he upgraded
    to Windows 10. He is talking about re-installing Windows 7 but as he does not understand the problems he is having I am trying to work out what is wrong.

    Tried to set up sfc /scannow - Search Box would not respond - could not type in box - gave up trying to sort this - set up scannow via Task Manager with elevated privileges but received error message "Windows Resource Protection could not start". On Microsoft Community Forum Site I found suggestions for ADDING a missing Trusted Installer which I am looking into. In the process I found he has 2 different Trusted Installer IDs

    The sub folder in C:\Windows\Servicing Version gives him a Trusted Installer ID ending in .570
    The only folders I could find in WinSxS (amd64-microsoft-windows-servicingstack_31bf3856ad364e35_is followed by Trusted Installer ID ending in 486

    Would this be the cause of his problems - or one of them? If so can you advise how I should proceed to remedy this ? The Microsoft Community solution is for a MISSING ID not for 2 conflicing versions !

    Hopefully yours

    Shortcutter

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD A6-5400K APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics, AMD64 Family 21 Model 16 Stepping 1
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 7633 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 7540D, 512 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 519 GB (440 GB Free); D: 399 GB (371 GB Free);
    Motherboard: MSI, FM2-A55M-E33 (MS-7721)
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2017
  2. Sponsor

  3. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,500
    Firstly, I don't think that W10 is the problem. I have looked at your computer specs and those specs are easily able to run W10. The hardware in your husband's computer should serve him well for several years. W7 mainstream support ended 2 years ago in 2015 and extended support will end in just over 2 years in Jan 2020. Reverting back to w7 is not, in my view, a good idea.

    Fixing W10 is absolutely the way to go, you don't want to end up with a good computer and an unsupported OS.

    If I was sitting at your husband's computer I would start by doing the following in this order....

    As a matter of caution, just in case the Hard Disk is failing it would probably be a good idea to make a Backup of all your personal files on completely separate media (CD/DVD, SD, another HDD or even Cloud Storage) before starting to do anything..... then proceed as follows...
    1. Login as the Administrator
    2. Make sure that both the computer and monitor are set to "Never" in Power Settings
    3. Run an AV scan of the entire system (could take some time)
    4. Run a Malware scan of the entire system (Malwarebytes or Emsisoft both have Free online scanners)
    5. Run a Check Disk on both disks (or both Partitions if only a single disk)
    6. Open a CMD window and run sfc /scannow from within the CMD (don't run sfc /scannow from the Search Box
    At this point you need to get back to the Forum and let us know where you are at after doing the above.

    What you should absolutely NOT do is start changing settings or going into the Registry or just trying a procedure for unknown or little understood reasons. And if you are not sure then please ask. Your husband's computer is a little sick at the moment, you don't want to make it terminally ill....:eek:

    T.
     
  4. Shortcutter

    Shortcutter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    286
    Thankyou very much for reply. Sorry for delay but husband very depressed over computer and needs a lot of encouragement to try your suggestions ! He is now running a Malwarebytes scan and we will get back later. He has checked Power etc. set to NEVER.
    We are assuming Malwarebytes scan covers the Antivirus requirement. We have Malwarebytes Premium 3.0 which has been giving a lot of problems to other people but after a couple of initial glitches, not to me personally. My husband had his problems with computer prior to installing MBW.

    I had trouble when I tried to run sfc scannow last time - computer would not recognise net user. I`ll try again though. Presumably (I`m only a quarter of the way to computer literacy !) I can use
    Windows plus R to start the Command menu in order to avoid using Search.
     
  5. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,500
    A. Malware Scans

    I don't want to confuse the issue and digress from the core of this problem. However, when I see something in your replies that is inaccurate I will, for the sake of clarity, respond to that. In your reply you wrote ".....We are assuming Malwarebytes scan covers the Antivirus requirement......". Typically a "Malware" focused utility and an "Anti Virus" focused utility operate in different ways and can in fact work in tandem.

    MBAM Premium 3.0 has tried to be all-things-to-all-users and has in my (and many others) opinion failed catastrophically in the task. That is why many (including myself) have cancelled our subscriptions and have sourced alternative Malware protection.

    The Malwarebytes online (and Free) scanner still does a great job of finding suspect files that might be missed by an AV. The same comment applies to the Emsisoft online (also Free) scanner.

    B. Running sfc /scannow from a CMD window

    Opening a CMD window is very easy to do. Proceed as follows....

    1. Login as the Administrator
    2. Click the Start icon (lower Left on Taskbar)
    3. To the Left of the Start window are a list of Programs
    4. Scroll down the list until you get to "W" and then look for "Windows System"
    5. Click on the very small down-arrow that is displayed to the Right of the words "Windows System"
    6. A sub-menu will open and the item at the top of that menu will be "Command Prompt"
    7. Click on Command Prompt and a CMD window will open

    You then run sfc /scannow from within that window.

    When the scan has completed take a Screenshot (Windows key + PrtSc) and attach it to your next Post.

    T.
     
  6. Shortcutter

    Shortcutter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    286
    Thanks for info. I have been having trouble myself recently so have uninstalled Malwarebytes and bought Kapersky Total Protection instead. Trying to get my husband to do the same.
    Would you use Superspyware as well as Kapersky ?
     
  7. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,500
    It would probably be best if the issues you are having with Windows and your questions regarding Anti Virus and Malware were dealt with separately. TSG has a Forum dedicated to security questions under the Forum title "General Security". There you will find knowledgeable advisors on all aspects of security.

    Returning to the Windows issue..... the most important thing not to do at this stage is to try just anything in an attempt to return W10 back to health. The more "unknown" things you try the higher the likelihood that you will render Windows unusable.

    Windows 10 is a very robust environment with a strong set of tools that enable the user to recover the Operating System in the event of a problem. In Post #4 I provided a step-by-step guide as to how you can run the SFC utility. Before you try anything else could you please advise when you have done this and attach the Screenshot of the result. The first thing that we both need to know is whether any of the critical Windows system files have been corrupted. SFC is the built-in Windows utility that will repair and/or replace any damaged system file.

    Nothing else should be tried until we have a result from that process.

    T.
     
  8. Shortcutter

    Shortcutter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    286
    Thanks - re: my own queries re: security will go to the other forum.

    Problem I have with my husband`s computer is that the Search Box is not working. Clicking/ double clicking, right or left clicking does not come up with the All Programmes list I get on my computer.

    I have checked via services.msc but the menu says Windows Search is running
     
  9. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,500
    But why does the Search Box need to be working? Refer back to my guide at Post #4. I have attached a Screenshot to this Post to help you visualize the way to open a CMD window.

    CMD Window.jpg

    T.
     
  10. Shortcutter

    Shortcutter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    286
    I cannot get this menu on my husband`s computer. I have no Windows icon except on the keyboard. I finally got to scannow via Googling. Came up with Try Windows Icon + x Then type A and it worked. I have to use the Windows icon on the keyboard.
    Using Windows Icon + R results in statement it cannot run without Administrator permission.

    Alas the result is: Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation.

    I checked on User Accounts on husband`s computer and he is Administrator and only has one account. Sorry that is not clear. I got on to the Command Menu via Windows +X then A and typed in sfc /scannow. It started the scan but then came up with no can do as above.
     
  11. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,500
    On your husband's computer proceed as follows....

    1. Make absolutely sure that you are logged in as an Administrator
    2. Open Task Manager by Right-clicking the Taskbar and then clicking on Task Manager
    3. In Task Manager at the Top-Right find "Services" and click on it
    4. In Services click (once or twice) on the column "Description" so that the descriptions are in reverse alphabetic order
    5. Scroll down until you find a description "Windows Modules Installer"
    6. In the Status column it should read "Stopped"
    7. Right-click on "Windows Module Installer" and in the Pop-up Menu click on "Start"

    Then proceed as per my Post #4. (There is no difference between clicking on the Windows Icon or pressing the Windows Key)

    Post the result.

    T.
     
  12. Shortcutter

    Shortcutter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    286
    Sorry - I followed your directions. The Windows Module Installer was stopped and I started it. I had to do this 2 or 3 times - it seems to work but when I returned to the page because it had made no difference it had gone back to Stopped. I somehow found the same thing with a note saying Manual and clicked on start there. I tried shutting down the computer and re-opening it but it still keeps returning to STOPPED.

    I got my husband to find the List of Programmes via Start (on my husband`s monitor it is just off screen !!!) but opening Command Prompt with Administrator rights and entering sfc /scannow resulted in it trying to start but returning the
    Windows unable to do it message.

    The Menu I get when I click to the left of the Search Icon is not exactly like yours but it has an entry for System and separate entries for Command Prompt with and without Administrator rights. Using the one with Admin rights, I get sfc /scannow to start but as I say it cannot complete.
     
  13. jenae

    jenae

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    498
    Hi, well you have worked it out, in order to run most command prompt cmd's you need to open cmd prompt elevated, this means as administrator, sfc/scannow will not run otherwise. You have received a message that Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation. Now since you have been playing around with trusted installer, (the service correctly identified as Windows Module Installer, is meant to be stopped, it runs when needed then stops this is inherit within the OS) most likely windows cannot access the winsx folder, required for sfc.

    I would not worry about it. SFC is basically deprecated in win 10 and is next to useless, DISM has been a big disappointment, instead MS have made a OS reset that does a far better job.

    Before this however, I suggest you update to the Creators edition, this will most likely fix most problems, I strongly suggest you ditch any third party AV utils, instead use windows defender, windows firewall and if you wish either Malwarebytes or SuperAntiSpyware for malware protection (the free versions are fine). You receive similar protection and none of the problems third party AV's cause. You must google for the AV's developers uninstall utilities, it is the only way to properly uninstall them.

    If you wish to do a reset (keeps all files) press the win + r keys together in the run box type:-

    ms-settings:recovery (press OK)

    Select the RESET option.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Trusted Installer queries
  1. wellhead
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    108
  2. mthumjdo
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    311
  3. LoriDe
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    216
  4. Quack2017
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    202
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1190159