1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Trying to connect 2 monitors

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ramschackle, Aug 29, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ramschackle

    ramschackle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    I just recently bought a new monitor for my computer and have tried everything possible in my eyes to get windows 10 to detect it but for some reason it keeps stating no other displays detected.
    I have downloaded all the latest drivers .
    my graphics card is :
    ATI Radeon R9 380 $GB GDDRS PCI-E gaming Graphics
    on the back of the PC it has
    2 x DVI-D ports
    1x HDMI port
    1 x port with a screen pic
    I have 1 screen in one of the DVI-D ports and I have tried putting the other in the HDMI by itself then the DVI-D by itself .The 2nd screen does not like it unless the blue adapter is in the port with the screen pic but it still seems not to work.
    Can someone explain what I am doing wrong so I end up not losing all my hair please.
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,093
    First Name:
    David
    You can not use one on HDMI and other on DVD-I
     
  3. Johnny b

    Johnny b

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5,482
    First Name:
    John
  4. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,718
    First Name:
    Jim
  5. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,548
    Where are you connecting the monitors? What is the brand/make/model of your GPU?
    You need to connect them to the GPU. I have 3 monitors connected to my EVGA GTX 1060 3GB....1 using HDMI, 1 using DVI and 1 using a DP to DVI active adapter. All works fine for me and all are connected to my GPU.
     
  6. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,718
    First Name:
    Jim
    I do not see any information supporting that only a single monitor can be connected nor that any other ports cannot be used if the HDMI port is used. You should be able to use any combination of ports.

    Also, just for clarity, it does NOT have two DVI-D ports.

    From the specs: 1 x DL-DVI-I 1 x DL-DVI-D 1 x HDMI 1 x DisplayPort 1.2
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1232204

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice