1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

trying to connect my 2 dlink dir615 routers in client mode to talk

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sanscire, Mar 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sanscire

    sanscire Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hy,
    Okay so for the past week i have battled with my two routers trying to make them talk to each other.
    My main router (router A) is a dlink dir-615 ver. B
    My second router (router b) that im trying to make talk to router A is a dlink router dir-615 ver E1 flashed with dd-wrt custom firmware.
    I have looked at every setup guide people have posted online and youtube videos to no avail.
    can anyone help me make my 2 routers talk to each other?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,867
    what happens when you try this


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    From a JohnWill post

    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together.

    Note: The "primary" router can be an actual router, a software gateway like Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing, or a server connection that has the capability to supply more than one IP address using DHCP server capability. No changes are made to the primary "router" configuration.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).

    For reference, here's a link to a Typical example config using a Netgear router

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,189
    What is the point of this exercise?
     
  4. sanscire

    sanscire Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Yeah that din't end up working for me. I don't know why I cant get it to connect as a client or
    client bridge. This is not the first time a modified a router but first time i modified this router.
     
  5. sanscire

    sanscire Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hy,

    Okay I have 2 dlink routers. Router A dir 615-b stock firmware that is connected to my comcast modem.
    Router B dir615-e1 with ddwrt firmware. Im trying to connect router b to router a without trying to run a 25ft lan cable. i have looked at and read at every possible tutorial trying to get this to work but cant. I previous had a lynksys router that i modified and it worked perfectly. For some reason this one i cannot get it to work. any help is much appreciated. thanks in advance
     
  6. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    725
    They both need to be DD-WRT firmware, then bridge the two. I cannot tell you how. But that will work. Try the DD-WRT forums, they have guides for all kinda of networking setups.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,538
    I've merged your threads. Do not start multiple threads on the same topic.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/985809