1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Trying to copy music tapes to my hard drive

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by xico, Jan 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    I'm trying to copy some old music tapes to my hard drive, after which I will burn them on a CD; but for the moment I can't seem to get any input into the Recorder. I have MusicMatch Jukebox Plus, Nero, Real One Player, Sound Blaster's Creative Mixer and the Recorder, and I am using a Windows 98, so I also have Win's Media Player, the Sound Recorder and the Volume Control--all this and absolute silence. The tape player I'm using the Karaoke "The Singing Machine," and running my line from the speaker jack to the mick jack on the tower. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I can do to record on to my hard drive?
    I have an info sheet from MusicMatch that says to open "my Windows Mixer," but I don't have a Windows Mixer (or do I?), so I used Creative Mixer and followed the instructions until I came across "From the Recorder Setting screen in MM JUkebox Options/Setting/Recorder choose Recording Source and select Line-in or Mic in. Click OK. " I don't really know what the "screen in" means or how you jump from the Recorder Settings to Music Match. Ahhhh.
    Any help would greatly be appreciated . . . very much so. This is not a task for an Alzheimer patient.
     
  2. RT

    RT

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,092
    HI there, xico,

    I'm gonna ask the Moderator to move this to the proper place where you will get a better response to your questions, OK?

    Be patient and some one will address your woes.... :)
     
  3. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    Okay, R T! Thank you. I wondered about that.
     
  4. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
  5. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    Thank you $teve for the info. I will check it out for sure. I liked the Lady Astor and Churchill banter too. I don't know why Lady Astor's a target, but I heard one years ago where the Duke of somehwere asked Lady Astor if she would go to bed with him for a million pounds. She said, "Of course." The Duke said, "How about 5 shillings?" Lady Astor replied, "What do you think I am?" The Duke said, "We've already established that. Now we're quibbling about price."

    Anyway thank you for the info.
     
  6. buckaroo

    buckaroo

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2001
    Messages:
    3,334
    Here's a free application that I can heartily recommend:

    http://download.com.com/3000-2170-7397131.html?legacy=cnet

    I use this to record LP's. It has tools for cleaning up clicks and pops from LP's and hiss from tapes.

    I don't know all of the music applications you listed, so I'm not sure what you're trying to do can't be done with what you have. I don't think I would bother with windows sound recorder, though.

    One thing I would do. Instead of taking the signal from the speaker jack, isn't there a line out or some other output (RCA plugs) instead? Then you can plug it in to the line in jack on your sound card instead of the mic jack.
     
  7. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    The free/trial version of Goldwave has very limited recording capabilities.

    CDex (free quality ripper) has a "Tools -> Record from Line-In" feature.
    You can encode/save the recording to WAV or MP3.

    Though you should also be able to do this with Creative Recorder.

    The Windows mixer is the volume control applet, accessible via double clicking the little yellow speaker icon in your systray (next to the clock).

    If it's not there, I'm not sure what your Windows OS is, but go to Control Panel -> Sounds & Audio (WinXP), Sounds & Multimedia (Win2k/ME), Multimedia (Win9x), and checkmark "show icon on taskbar" (or words to that effect)

    First, make sure Line-In is available and the volume level is set according to taste.

    If it's not there, go to:
    Options menu -> Properties and checkmark it in the list of available playback items.

    Now go to: Options -> Properties
    select: Recording
    Make sure line-in is checkmarked in the list
    Click Okay
    Now select Line-in as the active recording channel, make sure "mute" isn't checkmarked, and set the recording level.

    You should now be all set to go, no matter which software you use.


    Oh, and sure, naturally you'd get even better results if you had an SPDIF bracket and used the Digital-in method (instead of standard Analog-in)
     
  8. telecom69

    telecom69 Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    9,807
  9. telecom69

    telecom69 Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    9,807
  10. telecom69

    telecom69 Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    9,807
    Hi for the benefit of the forum,this can now be marked as solved,xico sent me a private email and all is well,the above site provided all he needed..... ;)
     
  11. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    Thank you all. You have been very, very helpful, and have opened up a storehouse of possibilities and knowledge. Thank you very much. Yes, the problem is pretty much solved.
     
  12. telecom69

    telecom69 Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    9,807
    Keep in touch xico and let us know how you get on with your project if you will :D if you need any further help dont hesitate to ask ....
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115644

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice