trying to extend wifi

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Delfy60

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
3
hello, I have an arris broadband modem combo and the wifi signal in the basement is poor I tryed to connect a netgear n 300 wireless router (wnr2000v3) to extend the wifi with an ethernet cable but the neatgear router does not have an internet connection. what can i do or what am I doing wrong?
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,332
First Name
Terry
Are you trying to connect to the Netgear's WAN or a LAN port? If the former, be aware that usually the two routers have to be using different LAN IP subnets.
 

Delfy60

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
3
im trying to get an internet connection to the netgear router via LAN connection from the Broadband modem to the WAN connection of the netgear router, unless this is wrong. I need help, so please someone help me. i have read different things so I have decided to ask and get the correct process on how to get a WIFI signal in the basement using what i have.

I have a ethernet cable over 100' in length a broadband combo modem (is a modem and a WIFI router) and a Netgear WIFI router.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
3,437
If the modem is a modem/router combo, you need to switch off the DHCP addressing in the Netgear router's settings.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,332
First Name
Terry
via LAN connection from the Broadband modem to the WAN connection of the netgear router
See post # 2. How about confirming that they are using different LAN subnets before we do more trouble shooting.
 

Delfy60

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
3
ok so i connect the the modem combo via LAN to the Netgear WIFI LAN port
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top