1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Trying to install PCI video card... things are not happening like they should

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dethkultur, Aug 10, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dethkultur

    dethkultur Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Hi, I have been struggling with this issue for hours over the last couple of days and I'm stuck.

    Trying to install a PCI video card (EVGA GeForce 6200) into my system. Tried the standard approaches, and a few more, and I can not get it to work. Here's some notes:
    • In my BIOS, there is no option to choose the video card to use. There is an area for Integrated Video, but it only gives you some options to change the AGP aperture size (even though there is no AGP slot.) From what I've found, the BIOS is up to date (Phoenix 6.0).
    • When I put in the card, onboard video is disabled. Thus, I am unable to bring it up on the monitor, install nvidia drivers, and disable the onboard video as some guides suggest. Seems that both the motherboard and Windows want to default to the PCI card, which is no problem except....
    • With card in and video cable attached to it, upon boot, I never see the post screen, just black. I see text of "Checking CD For boot....." for about 1 second, then again to black screen, and that's it.
    • If I cut the power without shutting down, then when powering back up I would normally see the "Windows did not shut down correctly" text screen before the OS. With the PCI card, I never see this but know it defaults to "fix startup problems", because I see the old XP boot logo (with the moving bar underneath) briefly, which means it is booting up there. Then black screen again.
    I thought it might be a driver problem (note above, I cannot install the nvidia drivers until it detects the card), and it may still be booting up, so I thought I'd be clever and turn off the firewall and turn on Remote Desktop. Then, I would remote in and update the driver. However, I only get returned pings when using the onboard video. So apparently, it is not booting up completely with the PCI card.

    As I said, I'm stuck. It's not unusual for me to miss something obvious sometimes, so I'm willing to listen and try anything. Thank you. It's frustrating that the card is actually sending a video signal, but only for two events (checking the CD for boot and the old style logo for the fix launch problems option.) ANy other time, it is a black screen. I would love to get this working!!!




    My specs:
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 370 @ 2.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3766 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 1755 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 460453 MB, Free - 272903 MB;
    Motherboard: Acer, Aspire 5733
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled

    (I have doubts on the Sysinfo detection. In the BIOS it says the mobo is ASM1610/VTM261, and in Device Manager it says that the onboard video is SiS).
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,480
    First Name:
    Frank
    The Acer Aspire 5733 is a laptop, so how are you installing a PCI video card in it. :confused:

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. dethkultur

    dethkultur Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    As I said, those results don't match what I have. I'm attaching a pic of the mobo. It has 2 PCIe slots (filled), and 2 PCI slots.

    [​IMG]

    Please help me with some advice :)
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,480
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the exact description of that motherboard?

    The image is blurry when I increase its size, but there appears to be 2 white PCI slots, 1 black PCIe x1 slot, and 1 black PCIe x16 slot.

    What cards are currently in the 2 black slots?

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. dethkultur

    dethkultur Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Yes, that's it. The PCIe slots have a USB 3.0 card and a wifi card in them. Removing them doesn't change any of the observations I noted in my post.

    My problem is installing the PCI video card, and getting it to work. I thought what I mentioned above (what signals are coming over it, what is in the BIOS, etc) was more relevant than what the PCIe slot looks like or what is in it, since I don't have a PCIe video card. Can you help me please?
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,480
    First Name:
    Frank
    I believe you need to use the PCIe x16 slot for a video card and not one of the other slots.

    I've never installed a video card in a PCI slot, unless the motherboard has only PCI slots and doesn't have an AGP slot or PCIe x16 slot.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. dethkultur

    dethkultur Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Hmmm - but there is a video signal coming from the card, as I mentioned. It actually does display some parts of the startup process.
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,480
    First Name:
    Frank
    My expertise and advice is limited without being there to see that computer.

    I really don't know what else to advise you from here.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,094
    First of all, list ALL of your exact specs. The utility is returning flaky info so list your specs; specifically the exact mb installed, exact ram installed, exact pw supply, etc. If this is a big box system [which I assume it is] then list the exact make and model.

    If this is an acer with onboard video that you are attempting to install a real video card into the system, you are most likely underpowered. Big box systems ship with a pw supply that is just enough to pw the system as shipped.

    You have already installed two add-on cards; there is probably not any additional pw for a real video card. Again post ALL requested specs.
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,480
    First Name:
    Frank
    I'll leave you with crjdriver who is much more knowledgeable in hardware issues than I am.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. crnppscls

    crnppscls

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Something stupid that happened to me with an older m/b & card. Wouldn't work until i cleaned the beejesus out of the pins on the card and the slot with s/spirit. It just didn't connect well
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1105742

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice