1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Trying to port forward and it is not working.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sghadir, Apr 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sghadir

    sghadir Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    I'm trying to forward some ports because i want to stream games from my pc to an android device through an app called moonlight which requires portforwarding. I've been trying and searching for hours and I don't know what is wrong.

    These are the required ports:
    "The following ports must be forwarded through your router for streaming to work with the latest version of GeForce Experience:

    and i attached an image of the ports i added on the router:

    Screenshot_1.png


    I don't know what is wrong, can anyone help.

    I'm happy to provide any necessary information.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2017
  2. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,228
    First Name:
    Andrew
    It looks like you entered the ports info correctly from what I can tell. However you also need to select what devices or IP addresses those porting features are going to be applicable to. There should be a place to input an IP address(s) to lock the Porting into. Whats the model of the wireless router?
     
  3. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    You need to go the Virtual Server section to do Port Forwarding.
     
  4. sghadir

    sghadir Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Ok. But this is also not working it seems:
    upload_2017-4-10_6-42-1.jpg
    and thank you for your help
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2017
  5. sghadir

    sghadir Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    When i use an online port checker website they are closed
     
  6. sghadir

    sghadir Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    I don't know what is wrong. I made my ip static. I tried everything and it all seems fine. I also allowed these ports through the firewall, and still...
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    What IP are you setting on the PC and router? You don't need to block it out, internal IP's are not a security risk, they are not accessible from the internet without someone knowing your external IP.

    Did you also allow those ports through the computer's firewall? Disable your Windows or third party Firewall for testing.
     
  8. sghadir

    sghadir Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    The IP i set on my router is my computer's ip, the one i saw in cmd when executing the command ipconfig /all. I'm sorry if this is not what your question ment, but i'm pretty new to these things.

    I will try disabling them and comeback with the results.


    Thank you very much
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    Make sure that IP isn't changing on you, you may want to set it statically or set a reservation in the router.
     
  10. sghadir

    sghadir Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    my desktop ip is static now
     
  11. sghadir

    sghadir Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    i think the ports are blocked by the isp but i am not sure

    will vpn unblock them?
     
  12. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    No, a VPN will not unblock them. If there is a block, and you can call and find out, then a business account may be a solution.

    What does ShieldsUp report for those ports? What does it say for other ports such as 80, 433, or 21? Closed, Open, Stealth?
     
  13. sghadir

    sghadir Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    everything was stealth
     
  14. sghadir

    sghadir Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    i think i will give up on it. will try to look for another solution

    thanks anyway
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1188193

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice