1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Trying to print locally on remote desktop

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by wilcorn, Mar 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wilcorn

    wilcorn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I am trying to print documents from my office computer on my home printer. I already have the remote desktop connection set-up. However when I push print when connected, it prints the document in the office. I thought it might be because my printer was connected to my home laptop wirelessly, so I hooked it up via USB but I still cannot connect to the home printer. Can you help me?
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,562
    Are you connecting by Remote Desktop to the office computer? Or to the home computer?

    On which computer is the document that you are trying to print? And on which computer is the application that is doing the printing?
     
  3. wilcorn

    wilcorn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I am connecting to the office computer from my home laptop. the documents are on the office computer. The application is on the office computer as well.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,562
    How did you manage to install your home printer on your office computer? Are you sure that you are selecting it when trying to print? I always try to print a test page from the printer's properties for a simple test.
     
  5. wilcorn

    wilcorn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I haven't been able to install my home printer on the office computer yet. I have a deskjet 6988 printer at home that connects wirelessly to my home router. I thought I would be able to just open a port on my home router to let my office computer access it but it doesnt work. I have also tried to install home printer software/drivers on office PC but it needs to connect to the printer to finish.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,562
  7. wilcorn

    wilcorn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,562
  9. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Chuck Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    49,399
    When I saw the subject line of this post, I thought it was for the one that I replied to. :D

    The MS support article is for a host computer running Windows XP Pro and a client computer running XP Home or Pro. The post here is in the Vista forum. I am not sure if any of the XP information applies to any of the two computers Vista.
     
  10. wilcorn

    wilcorn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I had already tried that solution. The client computer (home) is running Vista Basic. The remote computer is running Win XP Pro. Still haven't figured it out...
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,562
    That's disappointing. I think that Vista Home Basic is not worth much, but I thought it could do as well as XP Home (except for faxing).
     
  12. wilcorn

    wilcorn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Any other ideas? or should I just accept that this won't work? Thanks
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,562
  14. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
  15. hankyknot

    hankyknot

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    I know you can set a users profile up to use the default printer on the local machine (whichever one you are sat in front of when you open a remote session) as the printer of choice when a terminal services session is started.

    I also know you can use Hamachi (https://secure.logmein.com/products/hamachi/vpn.asp), the free version will do, to set up a VPN between your office PC and your home PC and then as long as your home Printer is shared you can add it to your office PC very easily. You can also share files using the same VPN.

    If you're not using terminal services then Hamachi might be your best issue, thats assuming your employer doesnt mind you printing off company stuff at home and knows how to turn it off if you ever leave on bad terms.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/692446