1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Trying to replace Vista with XP Pro - install bluescreens

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by RK101, Feb 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RK101

    RK101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Hi All,

    I bought a new Dell one week too late to get it delivered with XP, and am now the proud owner of a system with Vista Home Premium. But I'm more familiar with XP, it's what I use at work, and I'd like to benefit from the years of wisdom and optimization that have gone into a mature operating system.

    So I also bought a copy of XP Pro SP2, and am trying to wipe Vista and install XP. But when I boot from the XP Install CD, it gets through loading drivers, then to "Starting Windows", then crashes to bluescreen. This happens before I can get to safe mode or anything.

    I've tried to access the "load 3rd party drivers" portion of the XP install disk, but it only recognizes drivers on floppy drive A:\, and this being a new PC, it doesn't have a floppy drive.

    Suggestions?

    Thanks!
     
  2. unbidden

    unbidden

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,469
    Did you delete the Vista partition - reformat and start anew; or are your trying to duel boot Vista + XP?

    Please list the computer model and specs.
     
  3. RK101

    RK101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    I listed the PC specs in my profile - here they are:
    Dell XPS 410
    Intel core 2 Duo E6600 2.4 GHz
    4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM - 4 DIMMs
    256MB nVidia Geforce 7900 GS
    320 SATA HD
    2 DVD RW drives
    nothing else of note

    I didn't get to the point where I could wipe the hard drive. The XP installation crashes before windows actually starts up. But I wish to wipe Vista off and install XP anew.
     
  4. unbidden

    unbidden

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,469
  5. RK101

    RK101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    OK, thanks.

    Not sure how I'm going to wipe the Vista partition if I can't boot from the CD. But I'll give it a try tonight.
     
  6. unbidden

    unbidden

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,469
    You wrote:
    Then you wrote:
    Are you trying to install XP from within Vista? If the cd doesn't boot during startup, go to the BIOS and set the CD-ROM as the first device in the boot order.
     
  7. RK101

    RK101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    I'm booting from the CD. The boot process starts, and gets past the "hit F6" point. I see messages across the bottom as many drivers load from the CD, then it says "Starting Windows", pauses, then bluescreens. So I'm not getting to a point where I can see or reformat the C:\ drive. In the instructions you linked above, I make it through Fig 2 but crash before Fig 3.

    I'm not doing anything silly like trying to install from within Vista. I've installed/reinstalled/upgraded OSs before, but it was a long time ago. It seems in this case that the install crashes before a point where it would conflict with Vista on the C: drive, but maybe not.

    I did try hitting F6 to see if I needed to load some drivers that are specific to my Dell. However, it appears that it can only load drivers from the floppy (A:\) and I don't have one. The Dell drivers are all on CD.

    Thanks for taking an interest! Any other suggestions?
     
  8. unbidden

    unbidden

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,469
    Don't hit the F6 key. That is only if you have some specific driver that needs to install before the OS installs. Just let the screen run through to the next prompt which is the EULA (F8) - Then you will see the screen for deleting and creating.
     
  9. Carey934

    Carey934

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    150
    Sounds like he needs a bootable CD with something that will wipe out his current partition before he can continue with the XP install.
     
  10. RK101

    RK101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks again!

    unbidden - I'm not getting to the EULA screen - it's dying before that.

    Carey934 - thanks, that's what I thought. However, if the boot from XP Install CD is dying before getting to the EULA, how could the Vista partition be interfering?

    In other words, the boot process from the XP Install dies early. Doesn't this point to:

    1) A bad XP installation CD; or
    2) An incompatibility between my hardware and the drivers on the CD?

    I hope I'm wrong and the answer is as simple as wiping Vista - I just need to figure out how to do that. I'll troll through my various CDs and see if I've got anything I can boot from that will allow me to wipe the drive.


    ----
    And I want to take a moment to thank Microsoft and Dell. By forcing the adoption of Vista, they've turned my PC from an appliance into an occupation.
     
  11. Stephen47

    Stephen47

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,029
    did you try the Vista CD? there might be a format option there.
     
  12. Carey934

    Carey934

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    150
    How about a spare hard drive anywhere? Just for experiments sake, you can use that hard driive, or just clone it on to your current hard drive, then try to install XP.
     
  13. unbidden

    unbidden

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,469
    I'm now thinking along the line of Stephen47's idea; maybe XP will not delete Vista. You however should be able to format the drive with Vista built in tools???

    If not, it's time to break out a 3rd party partitioning program.
     
  14. RK101

    RK101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Well, I wiped the C:\ drive, but the XP install disk still crashes at the same point - right after it says "Windows is starting setup" or somesuch.

    Feels like incompatibility between the XPS 410 and the install disk.

    Gah, Microsoft may win this battle. I may have to live with Vista.

    Thanks for all the help folks.
     
  15. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Have you tried loading the SATA drivers from a floppy at the "Press F6 . . . " prompt?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544262

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice