1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Trying to revive older PC -Dr. Frankenstein

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bxmag, Nov 20, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bxmag

    bxmag Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    76
    I had a old AMD K6 II 350mhz system that I put on the side a while ago. I'm now looking to revive the system for my daughter.

    Hardware O = original N = New

    Shuttle HOt 591p motherboard ---- O
    AMD K6II 350 CPU -------------------- O
    128mb PC100 SDRAM ---------------- O
    40mb 5400 Hard drive --------------- N
    CD-ROM 52x ------------------------- N
    1.44mb 3.5 floppy drive ---------- ???
    10/100t NIC ---------------------------- N
    56K .V90 modem ---------------------- O
    AGP 8mb video card ------------------- O
    USB card --------------------------------- O

    I start the system checks drives and the 3.5 doesn't respond.
    Checked the cables on that drive by re-seating.
    Had the cable backwards on drive because the drive light stayed on---> according to a webpage. No light at all now. No beeps during boot. Never makes it to bios. Screen never shows activity, checked on different systems "it''s old but it works".
    CD-Rom and Hard Drive both seem happy and responding.
    10/100t light also seems to indicate operating properly.

    I'm really stuck on making a decission continue chasing this system or replace motherboard, cpu, 3.5, .....


    Thanks
    Danny
    :confused:
     
  2. Lurker1

    Lurker1

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,992
    Hi bxmag

    The new 40 gig drive may be a bit much for your system. I suggest you unplug the hard drive and cdrom cables and remove all the extra cards except for the Video card and try to get the system to show the POST on the monitor.
     
  3. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    So is it a 40MB or a 40GB hard drive?? If it is 40 Gigabytes, did you install the cable that came with the hard drive? If you did, take it out and put the old one back in. I agree with Lurker on disconnecting the HDD and CD-ROM along with everything but the video card to try and weed out the problem.
     
  4. bxmag

    bxmag Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    76
    :eek: OOOPs should be 40G !!!
    sorry

    Ok starting to unplug things

    "I'll be back!"

    Danny
     
  5. deuce

    deuce

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    For the 3.5 (I'm assuming you are talking about the floppy) did you check in the bios to make sure it wasn't disabled? Yes I agree on the 40 GB... it is way to big for that system. With a bios update you might be ok though... You are lucky it came with 128mb ram... that was a lot for back then. (and still is quite a bit for now--in terms of how much you need)
     
  6. bxmag

    bxmag Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    76
    Ok I removed the following

    Hard drive
    CD-ROM
    NIC card
    Modem card
    USB card

    The only things plugged into the board are

    sound card ----- that came with the machine
    video card ---- that came with the machine
    3.5 floppy drive ---- plucked out of dead 386
    com1, com2 and printer ribbon cables
    and the 128mb of memory PC100


    The end results were the same

    Machine show activity but never makes it as far as displaying anything on the screen. Any other suggestions?

    :confused: Danny
     
  7. Lurker1

    Lurker1

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,992
    Ok unplug the floppy drive and the sound card then reseat everything left (memory, video card, processor, power, etc).
    watch for POST display on monitor. You might also want to use the clear CMOS jumper to reset the BIOS.
     
  8. bxmag

    bxmag Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    76
    I was gonna let this die, and create a newer more up to date machine. But this machine should be ok for chatrooms, surfing and doing homework which it would be used for. Besides my wife (the warden) said no new machines "work with what you got" miserable ~#@!;*%.


    Just Kidding re: wife comments
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

    First change the HD to a 20G / 5400

    I have removed the Ethernet card, sound card, modem, and I unplugged the HD and the 1.44 drive.

    The only things connected to the MBoard are
    memory 128mb pc100
    video card in AGP slot
    and of course the keyboard and mouse


    Fire it up the screen does not even flicker, no Bios No nothing.

    HELP Please
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I know this is going to sound strange, but I am looking at your list of remaining items on the motherboard and you have no cpu listed......is this just an oversight?

    And I'll also re-suggest this, take the cpu out and reseat it, as well as the video card and the ram.....is it a single chip? If not, pull all but one.......Which slot(s) do you have the ram in?

    Double check the power connection from the power supply to the motherboard as well.
     
  10. mole

    mole

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 1999
    Messages:
    786
    Fought a problem similar to this, only on a new machine I built about 3 weeks ago. Turned out to be 1 bad stick of RAM out of 3. Computer made all proper booting noises, only no activity from the monitor. Did not let out the typical warning cry of mis-seated RAM either. Almost started fooling with video cards.

    AcaCandy might be on the right track, start playing a game of "20 questions" with the RAM.
     
  11. crabman

    crabman Guest

    try clearing the cmos........ and i agree with mole about the ram stick since you only need a little remove one stick at a time
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/59093

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice