1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

trying to see if a pc will run wow

Discussion in 'Games' started by blizzard_ice, Nov 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. blizzard_ice

blizzard_ice It's My Birthday! Thread Starter

um.. i am looking at a computer to buy, and i was wondering if the graphics card would be good enough for World of Warcraft. As you may know WOW is a very demanding game in terms of system requirments. Its a NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 512 MB w/DVI. now im not a computer expert, so i dont know wat that means. and the WOW requirment is a NVIDIA GeForce FX5700 class card or above. So will my computer be able to run WOW???

2. EdtheRed

EdtheRed

Easy answer: Yes.

Edit: That is of course going on the assumption that you're not trying to put that card in an absolute relic of a machine.

3. Super-D-38

Super-D-38

The system requirements for World of Warcraft:

PC:

* Processor: 800MHz or higher CPU.

* RAM: 256Mb or more.

* Video: GeForce 2 or better

* Hard Drive Space: 3Gb or more available.

* DirectX 9.0 or above.

Recommended Specifications

Windows® System 2000/XP OS:

* Intel Pentium® IV 1.5 GHz or AMD XP 1500+ MHz
    * 1024 MB RAM
    * 64 MB 3D graphics card with Hardware Transform and Lighting, such as NVIDIA® GeForce™ FX 5700 class card or above
    * Broadband Internet connection
    * Two-button scroll-wheel mouse

It will run on slow machines, but wont look as good as it can.
    And like Ed said, you will need more then just a good graphics card.
    Your PC will only run as fast as it's slowest component.