1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Turn off tapping...

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by mick4state, Jul 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mick4state

    mick4state Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    I just got a new hard drive for my HP Pavilion Laptop. With the old HD, I just had to go into Control Panel -> Mouse and disable tapping through something called Synaptics. This does not appear at all on my new control panel anywhere under Mouse, nor is there an icon in the lower right like there used to be. It seems like I can make tapping into a science where flicking in different directions does other crap, but I just want tapping off.

    Help?

    -mick
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    What exactly is "tapping"?
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  4. mick4state

    mick4state Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    That's what I used to do, but the DEVICE SETTINGS tab isn't there for some reason. See attachment for what happens when I open the MOUSE window from CONTROL PANEL.

    -mick
     

    Attached Files:

  5. mick4state

    mick4state Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Tapping is on laptops where you tap the touchpad with your finger and it is the equivalent of a left click. It's useful in some ways, but I hate it. I accidentally press it all the time and my palms sometimes click random links when I'm just trying to type.

    -mick
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,118
    Have you installed the driver for your touchpad?
     
  7. mick4state

    mick4state Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Geek Squad did the OS install because I needed a new HD and because I only had the disk to upgrade to Vista, not to install it directly. The touchpad obviously works, but I never installed anything myself.

    -mick
     
  8. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Ah, yes. I remember that now. Haven't used the pad in a while, in part because of the inadvertent "taps".
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  10. mick4state

    mick4state Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks a bunch.

    -mick
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You're welcome.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/596116

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice