1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

turning PDF into .txt

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by soldier, Feb 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. soldier

    soldier Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Messages:
    174
    Is there a way of turning pdf files into .txt or .doc files?
     
  2. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
    Click on the big “T” in the Acrobat reader toolbox. Highlight the text, right click in the highlighting and select “copy”. You can paste it into any word processor you choose.

    The icon to the left of the text tool will let you do the same thing with images in a PDF document. Click the image capture tool and left drag over the image you want. Right click and select copy and you can paste the image into Word or an image editor.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I suspect he's interested in converting a whole document, and maybe even preserving some of the formatting. :) One product that will do it is BCL Drake. Another product might be Gemini.
     
  4. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
    johnwill – I thought there was a site somewhere that does it free. For the price those guys charge you might as well just get Acrobat. The academic version is available cheaper than either of those and the full version is only $219 at Amazon. OmniPage Pro will do it for $100: http://www.scantips.com/scansoft.html#op12 The upgrade is really just the full program. I installed an earlier OnmiPage upgrade with absolutely no OCR on the computer – they say you can have anything.

    I have InDesign which converts to PDF and does anything with a PDF that I would want. I think I would just learn to live with the copy paste unless the demos of those programs you linked can be massaged.
     
  5. soldier

    soldier Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Messages:
    174
    Thnax for the info.
    I think OmniPage came with my scanner. Will have to check...
     
  6. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
    Not sure the bundled version will work and I think it has to be version 11 or newer.

    And thinking about my previous post I’m not sure the full Acrobat will do it. Seems I saw some discussion that Omnipage Pro is the best bet for what you want if the copy/paste isn’t sufficient.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/119586

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice