1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

TV Audio Output Issue

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jrptashaptn, Aug 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jrptashaptn

    Jrptashaptn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Hello!
    I recently picked up a Samsung 40" LN40E550F6F LCD TV, and I had been under the impression that the TV would include some form of audio output. The only options on the rear panel are 2 HDMI inputs, 1 Component/RCA Audio Input,and one jack that looks suspiciously like an Optical Audio out marked "Service".

    I had never heard of a TV without any audio output, but apparently it exists. I have a Pioneer 821k audio receiver that I use for surround sound, and hook all of my peripherals EXCEPT my basic cable provided by my college campus, as the receiver has no antenna input. I would like to be able to use the surround sound with my basic cable, so my question is, is there a converter I can use to take a cable antenna and convert at the very least the stereo audio into RCA for the input on my receiver.

    Or, is there a way I could use the HDMI ARC to get the audio from the cable back into the receiver?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Jrptashaptn

    Jrptashaptn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Hate to bump, but anyone have any ideas? It's been a while
     
  3. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,168
    Does the tv have built in speaker sound?
     
  4. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,168
    I tried to view the manual, but samsung says the manual is unavailable for download. Wierd.
     
  5. Oddba11

    Oddba11 Jim

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,648
    Many TV's do not have an audio output jack. If it did, the output would most likely only be stereo unless you use an optical output. But even then, the output would only be stereo unless the broadcast was in DD5.1.
     
  6. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,168
    My 55" Phillips only has Digital Coax Audio out. It is the yellow connector that looks like a regular RCA connector.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1064712