1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

TV Tuner Cards

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by aaronhyam, Feb 26, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. aaronhyam

aaronhyam Thread Starter

Hello guys,

I have been looking now several weeks for a TV Tuner card for my computer.. I am looking for a tv tuner card that will allow me to plug my Sky TV Box into the computer..

I have a sky subscription with my box and all i want to be able to do is connect my sky tv box into my laptop so that i watch my subscription on the laptop...

I was just wondering if anyone knows of any tv tuner card.. I have seen a few usb sticks but they all offer freeview and would not allow me to just plug my sky box in....

2. Oddba11

Oddba11

First Name:
    Jim
    I only recommend Hauppauge hardware.

Having said that, any tuner with video inputs will work. There aren't any that can tune SAT channels. So you would simply connect the video output of the Sky box to the input of the tuner card. For playback, you would choose the "line input" of the tuner card. All channel changes would still be done on the Sky box. Just ensure you get a tuner with inputs that match the Sky box outputs.

3. aaronhyam

aaronhyam Thread Starter

So basically there is none that will read the box for channels and allow me to change the channel on the laptop...

I am looking to run it through my network (router) so that when i am away from home i can access my network and watch the channels aswell as media on my laptop

4. crjdriver

crjdriver Moderator

I agree; I have been using a hauppauge card for going on 10yrs now with no problems at all. It is used every day to record my wife's soap opera.

5. zx10guy

zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter