1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Tv Tuner (Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by alittleconfused1, Nov 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. alittleconfused1

    alittleconfused1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Hi there. I will just explain my hardware in question before asking my question.

    I recently built myself a new RIG and then purchased myself a 42inch monitor;

    "http://www.lg.com/us/commercial/widescreen-monitors/lg-M4210LCBA"

    The monitor does not have a built in TV Tuner. And I am interested in having this monitor stream my cable.



    So here is my situation, I currently live in Ontario and have a Cogeco Cable Box, if I were to purchase the "Hauppauge 2250" Tv tuner, would I be able to connect my Cable box to my PC-TV Tuner and also be able to see all my channels as I would from my cable box as if it where connected to a normal TV?

    If more information is needed just let me know.

    Thank you,

    - Mike
     
  2. jamesx121

    jamesx121

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    I got a error on your monitor link---
    what kind of plug ins are on the back of your monitor???

    does it have a HDMI slot--

    I think your cogeco cable box would work as the tuner
    you would change the channel you are watching on the cogeco box.

    hopefully at least one of the plug ins match on back of cable box & monitor
     
  3. jamesx121

    jamesx121

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    I forgot---
    does your monitor have built in speakers????
    if not you would need a couple of speakers you could
    plug into back of cogeco cable box.

    but if still want to put TV tuner card inside of PC
    it will work.
    just make sure both have same connections for
    cable type you plan on using.
     
  4. alittleconfused1

    alittleconfused1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Hi thanks for the reply!

    My Top Box does not have a HDMI input, and Cogeco will not give me one with an HDMI input unless I pay extra, its rather expensive to. The Monitor does not have built in Speakers however, the monitor is connected to my graphics card HDMI input and I get volume from the them while playing games on the monitor, would the cable through windows media centre work the same way?

    If I connected the White and Red Audio chords from my Top Box to my PC-TV Tuner would I get audio?

    Thank you for the help,

    - Mike
     
  5. jamesx121

    jamesx121

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    I think you are getting out put confused with in put.

    when buy the PC TV Tuner card just make sure it & your monitor have a
    matching connector..
    the sound will come out of your computer speakers.

    now you got me confused::::
    I ment to type make sure your Top Box & PC TV Tuner card have matching connectors----

    your monitor will stay hooked up to graphics card like normal.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1075999

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice