TV Tuner & this PC - compatible?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

EarsToVanGogh

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
107
Hi there.

I was wondering if I could get some input on this. Here's the computer:

Vostro 400, Intel Core Duo 4 E4400 2.00GHz 2MB L2 Cache (WinXP Home)
128MB NVidia GeForce 8300
1GB DDR2 Non-Ecc SDRAM

Here's the tv tuner:

Hauppauge WinTV HVR 950

Will I be good-to-go?

Thanks.
 

fairnooks

Banned
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
5,251
As far as recording goes? I don't think you'd have any problem horsepower-wise. The video card with just 128 megs would be a little suspect for hi-def video editing and on a 1080p equivalent monitor (1920X1080 or above) but just the recording part shouldn't be a problem. I record highest quality Mpeg-2 on a 1.5 ghz Athlon A-socket without losing frames.
 

EarsToVanGogh

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
107
Thanks.

Yeah, I'm just recording regular stuff, no hi-def or anything too festive.

Do you have any recommendations as to which media to use?

I appreciate your help. Cheers.
 
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
7,091
You should be good to go and I'd stick with Win XP. Problems seem to arise with Media Center Edition and Vista.

When you want to record something on TV just hit record and it will create an .mpg file on your hard drive which can view later. Try a few different compression settings to see what the quality is like. I have mine set to 'DVD Long Play' and the quality is still decent.

Then if you want to burn a DVD you have to use a DVD authoring program to add menus and convert to DVD format. When I got a Hauppauge card it came with Ulead DVD MovieFactory which works fine for what I want to do. Then you can burn the files out of that to a DVD.
 

EarsToVanGogh

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
107
I've got the tv tuner installed and it's looking good.

Is there any free DVD authoring software out there?... or something good, yet inexpensive?

Thanks for all of your help so far, folks. This is almost fun. :)
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,281
stantley said:
You should be good to go and I'd stick with Win XP. Problems seem to arise with Media Center Edition and Vista.
kinda defeats the purpose for MCE huh :)
 
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
7,091
EarsToVanGogh said:
Is there any free DVD authoring software out there?... or something good, yet inexpensive?
I've seen Ulead VideoStudio for on sale for $50 every once and a while. You could check here for freeware http://www.videohelp.com/tools?listuser=&orderby=Rating&s=2#2
Couriant said:
kinda defeats the purpose for MCE huh
Yea, kind of ironic. I've heard a lot of people complain about MCE and it's either 'I have MCE and I can't capture video' or 'I have MCE and a TV card but it says Can't find video capture device'.

It was a good idea by Microsoft, but poorly written software, or maybe they don't consider video as 'media'. :)
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,281
or at least video from a tuner... :) ok enough highjacking the thread from me :)
 

EarsToVanGogh

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
107
I don't mind the hijacking - I might even learn something... if I knew what the heck we were talking about. LOL

Here's a dandy question: Might I have something on this new computer that can create a simple DVD? I see a Roxio Creator DE in the program menu - what can that do? I haven't really dug around.

I'm talking simple - take the file, burn it to the DVD with a simple title. It'd be more like just a DVD with some stuff on it - not a nice looking project with interfaces and features.

Simple-minded user = simple DVD. LOL
 

EarsToVanGogh

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
107
Oooooooooooooh. I burned a little file to a DVD with the Roxio thing. Ooooooooooooh. Fun!

But... I don't know what all of the settings, etc. mean. Is there a lay-persons guide to terms?

Menu Aspect Ratio - 4:3 or 16:9

Preset (I understand the HQ, SP, LP, etc.) - 720x480, 704x480, 352x480, 352x240?

Interlaced or Progressive?

Audio - Dolby Digital, AC3, MPEG, LPCM (Bit Rate in kb/s)

I don't really care too much. I'd like to get as much "good" quality stuff onto a disk as possible. I'm just basically replacing my old VCR with this.

You know, I feel fairly competent out in the world, but I feel like an idiot with this stuff.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,281
Ratio is the display. If you are using a widescreen tv to watch the dvd, choose 16:9, otherwise use 4:3

The preset looks like resolution. Probably due to the file itself.

Interlaced.

Audio is what type of audio encoding. I would suggest Dolby.

Wikipedia.com is your friend for explanations on those terms.
 

EarsToVanGogh

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
107
Thanks for the advice. I get lost sometimes between the definitions of terms and then knowing which one to choose. All that interlaced crapola and whatnot. LOL

So, here's were we are. I have my new computer - great deal from Dell, but I had to order a monitor from NewEgg because Dell totally screwed up the monitor order and we're going on three weeks of barking back and forth at each other. I got a better monitor and a better price - had enough left over to get a simple set of decent speakers, too. :)

I've got a nice 20" widescreen LCD coming next week. I am really liking my new Vostro computer, but the old monitor is so pathetic that it is almost painful. I have usually inherited computers or had to get the boxed ones with no options, but this time I got my graphics card, etc. I'm happy.

The TV tuner is too cool. I realized that i usually had the TV on next to my computer and didn't really "watch" it all that much - just "listened" while on the computer. Multi-tasking, you know. ;) So, I've got the TV running on the PC and am cruising around the web. I "listen" to the shows the same way that I did when the TV was on... and I got to make more room on my desk by losing the Tv and DVD/VCR! (When my flat panel monitor gets here, I'll have even more room!!!!!)

Since I am spliced off of a splice off of a splice from the cable TV coming into the house, the reception is a wee bit fuzzy at times... but maybe when the new monitor is hooked up with the new computer, it will be better. I'm sure that there are some adjusting things that I haven't dug into yet, too.

Anyway, watching/navigating/recording couldn't be easier. Toggling between TV and computer work is easy and the "always on top" feature is nice. With the Roxio program that came on the new computer, I can burn DVDs easily. I feel like I am finally in the 21st century. I'm a little peeved about the TV tuner not supporting the closed-captioning feature that is so important to me and others in my family. I am currently chatting with the company to express my unhappiness - there is a CC button right on the player... it just doesn't do anything - not even click. This is not important to the vast majority of users, but it is a feature that I need and miss.

Anyway, I wanted to thank you all for your help, comments and kindness. You folks do realize how much some of us appreciate you, right? I'd be lost without the help that I've gotten here.

It's Friday! It's cold and sorta snowy. I'm happy to be dorking around on the 'puter. It is the start to a good weekend. Cheers.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
1,689
i use nero 7 ultra.. its great, you can use it from it starting to record at a set time, to burning the disk. i really like it
 

EarsToVanGogh

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
107
Which kind of blank media should I use so that the DVD is compatible with the most players? I have been using DVD+R, but some people are having trouble viewing all of the content.

(I have been using the Roxio program that came with my computer and have found that even though I have 2 separate 30 minute shows burned, only one is accessible - so I just ordered the Nero Ultra.)

Do you think that I have a blank media problem or a software problem?

I gotta get this stuff burned for good and get it off of my hard drive. It's filling up fast. LOL

Thanks!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top