Two computers to same internet connection?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Raiki

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 2, 2006
Messages
20
So I'm at a friend's home temporarily, and right now using his computer. But I have my own computer too. He has a cable internet connection, he has a modem and router. So anyway, I connected a wire to the router, and into my computer, but says there's a problem with the IP address, help me out? Oh and if there's a topic on this, I'm sorry.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
You more than likely need to set your netowrking settings to use DHCP if his router is handing out dynamic IP addresses.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
66,070
Are you familiar with the Windows Command screen (DOS SCrren)? Assuming your friend is running a fairly recent version of Windows, go to the command screen and type in this command line:

IPCONFIG /ALL

This should return a detailed listing of the computer's IP configuration. Select all and copy it to the clipboard. Then paste the results into a new entry for this topic.
 

Raiki

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 2, 2006
Messages
20
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : YOUR-055AEE3D7D
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : nyc.rr.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nyc.rr.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VM Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0B-CD-20-E8-DD
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 2006년 7월 30일 일요일 오후 5:19:25
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 2006년 8월 6일 일요일 오후 5:19:25

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>^A

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>






------
Sorry for the late response, also ignore to bottom, that was me trying to select all and copy lol. Oh btw, the language on the PC is set to Korean.
 

bassetman

Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
Raiki said:
So I'm at a friend's home temporarily, and right now using his computer. But I have my own computer too. He has a cable internet connection, he has a modem and router. So anyway, I connected a wire to the router, and into my computer, but says there's a problem with the IP address, help me out? Oh and if there's a topic on this, I'm sorry.

What version of Windows are YOU running?
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
66,070
As Rockn suggested, you need to have DHCP enabled on your PC automatical get an IP address for your computer when it is connected to the router. The PC in the IPCONFIG listing is using DHCP.

The only thing that might stop you connecting is if your friend's router is doing MAC filtering on the LAN port to only allow certain known computers to connect -or- if the DHCP server in the router is set to give out one IP address and your friend's PC connected first.
 

bassetman

Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
When I added my new XP Lap Top to my Lan, I ran tge Network wizard and it took care of everything! :confused:
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top