1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Two Hard Disks and GRUB location /dev/hdb6

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by zillah, Jan 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. saikee

    saikee

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,887
    It works if do it with an operating system instead of a boot loader.

    vi is a Linux editor. You can only access it after booting up the Linux.

    Grub is a boot loader. It has no kernel, no software and cannot be used to amend the two files.

    Grub prompt is a special feature of Grub to allow you to perform the essential tasks in booting a system manually. No other boot loader gives such a facility. You may have misunderstood it can do everything like an operating system can do.

    Grub "IS NOT" an operating system, not when it is only 1/10 the size of a floppy.
     
  2. zillah

    zillah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    330
    How can i boot into Linux,,,,because we have not sloved this issue yet
     
  3. saikee

    saikee

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,887
    Well you have not told us the results until now.

    Here is collection of booting tips I have recently put togther. Since you have a Live CD and a Grub floppy you should be able to boot every system up using the tips. My advice is just a repeatition of them.
     
  4. zillah

    zillah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    330
    I have to admit you are a guru of GRUB .

    Which result,,,just remind me please


    Because I can not boot linux through grub (as a result I am receiving a prompt of native grub (i.e grub>) ),,,,does that mean I have to boot my PC from Live CD (I do not have floppy with my laptop) knoppix to modify /boot/grub/dvice.map or /boot/grub/menu.lst ?


    I discussed with more than one forums,,,the conculsion that there are limitation in the BIOS that I am using (though it is not old), therefore I can not swap the boot sequence for the hard disks from primary master to primary slave or to secondary slave or secondary master
     
  5. saikee

    saikee

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,887
    I am not. I only read the Grub Manual and my copy does not have one extra word than the one you can read from the Internet. I am only a few steps ahead of you.

    I have asked you to report your status on Post #21

    If you could read, copy and paste /boot/grub/menu.lst from Knoppix you can also edit the same file! /boot/grub.device.map is jusy another test file with 3 to 4 lines inside.

    Surely you are not telling me that although you can read a file but can't edit i, are you?

    You confirm that you have a Grub prompt. The Grub floppy only boots you into a Grub prompt so you don't need a floppy drive!!!! Just use the Grub pompt to boot all your systems and edit /boot/grub/menu.lst with the manual instructions that you know have worked.

    If you can't swap the booting order that is no handicap as Grub can re-arrange it for you. I have already given you the "map" statements before.

    So if you want to boot your Linux use Tips Task A1+A6
     
  6. zillah

    zillah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    330
    From post # 18
    Code:
    From "grub >" I typed in these command :
    
    root (hd1,0)
    map (hd1) (hd0)
    map (hd0) (hd1)
    chainloader +1
    boot
    
    line by line ("In a Grub prompt you instruct Grub by one line of command at a time.
    ") ,,,,,then I was introduced by the normal windows bootloader (DOS black screen),,,,Do I need to restart PC to be to see Grub again ? I am waiting for your reply,,,I have done any thing yet.
    


    I got confused here in the first quote you are advising to use Grub prompt (i.e grub>,,,Am I right ?) to edit /boot/grub/menu.lst , in the second quote your are advising to use knoppix to edit /boot/grub/menu.lst !!!!!!!

    Does that mean I can modify (edit) /boot/grub/menu.lst while I am in a native grub (grub>) ?----
     
  7. saikee

    saikee

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,887
    The commands you boot a system successfully in a Grub prompt manually are the ingredients you need to put inside /boot/grub/menu.lst for booting it automatically.

    You need to use a Grub prompt to boot up a Linux. Thereafter you can edit the /boot/grub/menu.lst while inside a booted up Linux.

    Alternatively without a booted up Linux you can edit the same file via a booted up Live CD.

    In a Grub prompt there is no editor available.
     
  8. zillah

    zillah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    330
    I am trying to use grub> prompt to boot my linux (I have not tried knoppix yet)

    1- grub> find /boot/grub/menu.lst
    (hd0,5)

    2- cat (hd0,5)/boot/grub/menu.lst
    I omitted the output.

    3- configfile (hd0,5)/boot/grub/menu.lst

    I have been greated with GRUB bootloader black and white (not colored) when I chose FC,,,I received this message :

    Booting 'Fedora Core (2.6.11-1.1369_FC4)

    root (hd1,5)

    Error 22: No such partition

    Press any key to continue----If I press any key i will go back to the same black and white menu.
     
  9. saikee

    saikee

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,887
    Doesn't it tell you the root partition isn't in (hd1,5)?

    You have already found it in (hd0,5), right?

    The cat (hd0,5)/boot/grub/menu.lst actually lists the commands inside. So just type it line by line to boot Fedora manually but change for the correct the root location.

    There could only two things that can go wrong

    (1) The partition reference in the root statement
    (2) The "root=" paramenter in the kernel statement.

    Fixed both and Fedora will have to fire up.
     
  10. zillah

    zillah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    330
    I modified both files (device.map and menu.lst) by using knoppix CD, still I am getting the same problem (grub>),,,I am not getting the GUI for grub.
     
  11. saikee

    saikee

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,887
    One problem at a time please.

    In a Grub prompt do these lines (from your menu.lst but you can type it line by line at Grub prompt) boot Fedora or not? If not what is the error message?

    Code:
    root (hd0,5)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4.img
    Now tells us which part of the /boot/grub/menu.lst doesn't work?

    (1) The GUI display?
    (2) Fedora doesn't boot? or
    (3) Window does boot?

    and list your latest menu.lst here.
     
  12. zillah

    zillah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    330
    These are the outputs:

    grub> root (hd0,5)-------Press Enter
    Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83

    grub> kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4 ro root=LABEL------Press Enter
    [Linux-bzImage, setup=0x1e00, size=0x18e473]


    grub> initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4.img--------Press Enter
    [[email protected], 0x10e797 bytes]





    No

    FC did not boot nor windows



    grub>cat /boot/grub/menu.lst
    title Fedora Core (2.6.11-1.1369_FC4)
    root (hd0,5)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4.img

    title WinXP and 2003
    rootnoverify (hd1,0)
    map (hd1) (hd0)
    map (hd0) (hd1)
    chainloader +1


    grub>cat /boot/grub/device.map
    # this device map was generated by anaconda
    (fd0) /dev/fd0
    (hd0) /dev/hdb
    (hd1) /dev/hda
     
  13. saikee

    saikee

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,887
    Your Fedora is Ok and I think your Windows will boot too.

    When you use a menu.lst instruction to boot a system manually you always omit the "title" line and finish everthing with a "boot" statement

    Therefore for booting Fedora maually
    Code:
    root (hd0,5)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4.img
    [color=red]boot[/color]
    for booting Windows manually
    Code:
    rootnoverify (hd1,0)
    map (hd1) (hd0)
    map (hd0) (hd1)
    chainloader +1
    [color=red]boot[/color]
    I shall boot up my Fedora and tell you the splash filing name with which you can get a Graphic screen at the Grub menu.
     
  14. saikee

    saikee

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,887
    Here is my FC4 menu.lst (installed in hda21)
    Code:
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,21)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Fedora Core (2.6.11-1.1369_FC4)
    	root (hd0,21)
    	kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4 ro root=LABEL=/12345678910 rhgb quiet
    	initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4.img
    Therefore to get a GUI screen in your case is just adding at the beginning of menu.lst
    Code:
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,5)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    The "default=0" statement is for FC4 to boot system 0 (1st system of menu.lst) if it get tied of waiting for you to make up your mind. The period FC4 prepared to wait is indicated in the "timeout=5" statement. Put a couple of 0s after 5 if you want more time.
     
  15. zillah

    zillah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    330
    It did not work
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/433726

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice