Two hard-drives… I think!!??

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Rasu

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 13, 2001
Messages
57
Can anyone please help me figure out how I can use both my harddrives?? I recently got a used computer from someone who left the country. The PC has 2 harddrives when I open it up, but when I log in, I can only see one drive (Drive C).

I ran an application that gives a screenshot information of installed components in our PC (called Belarc Advisor), and it gave me the following information about my processor and harddrive:

Processor:
450 megahertz Intel Pentium III (2 installed)
32 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache

Hard Drives:
27.31 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
21.38 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

FUJITSU MPE3273AH [Hard drive] (27.32 GB) -- drive 0
FUJITSU MPE3273AH [Hard drive] (27.32 GB) -- drive 1

So it looks like I actually have dual Pentium 3 processors, and two internal harddrives as well. Is that right? More importantly, how can I access the SECOND harddrive, so that I can perhaps format it and use it as extra storage space?? Please please help.

Thank you.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2002
Messages
1,716
In w2k or XP you can right click "my computer>manage>disk management".

In there you should be able to partition the extra drive and format it.
 

Miz

Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
2,146
Check to see if TweakUI is installed. In XP, it will be on the Start Menu. Expand the My Computer category, select Drives and make sure there are check marks in all boxes. (All boxes because you don't know what drive letter designation was given to the second drive) Click OK and see if the second drive is visible.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Howdy Rasu...

Looks to me like you have a server, and the hard drives are probably setup as a Mirrored set...

If that's the case the second hard drive it the mirror of the first...
 

Rasu

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 13, 2001
Messages
57
Thank you for the reply. I was able to right click "my computer>manage>disk management", and from there, I saw the second harddrive, assigned it a letter (Drive_E), and was prompted to format it (it was empty). I formated it in NTFS, and I now have my 2 harddrives back!

:)
 

Rasu

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 13, 2001
Messages
57
Actually the JediMaster can never be wrong! ;-)

This PC was used as a server before. I too had suspected what you had thought too. THANKS! (y)
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Actually the JediMaster can never be wrong! ;-)
LOL!!! I wished that were true ( at least where my wife is concerned ;) )....

But glad it is working thanks to DVOM...
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2002
Messages
1,716
Jedi_Master, I got lucky on that one. But you were completely right, it was a server. I had initially missed that.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Hey no problems here my friend :D ...

If it was a Mirrored set, not 100% sure that the mirror could be broken by formating through Disk admin. ( never tried it ), so looks like it wasn't a morrored set...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top