1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

two harddrives

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by seizard, Jan 26, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. seizard

seizard Thread Starter

I have a 9 GB harddrive and just installed a 60 GB harddrive. I do a lot of multimedia type activities on my computer so obviously, I want to use the bigger/faster harddrive as my main system. I thought I had set it up this way, but my system boots with the my old harddrive as C:. The new harddrive shows up as D:. How do I make the D the main drive? Can I set it up so that my operating system starts up on D?

Please help, I am a total amateur on this and don't want to try fixing it by trial and error.

2. raz

raz

I had a similar problem some time ago.

You shold note that your system may prevent you from doing this as older systems may only recognise part of a larger hard drive due to the bios limitations

However try this

You may be able to swap hdd around ie. 9GB = Disk 2 (slave) 60GB= primary disk 1

or go into the bios and change bios set up so that D = Boot up disk.

BOL
    RAZ

3. J. Franklin

J. Franklin