1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Two Internal Hard Drive Query

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by cyber19582, Feb 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cyber19582

    cyber19582 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    have a system with two physical hard drives (C and D), both are listed in the bios, and they are piggybacked via the cable..what i would like to do is allow only one drive (C) to work even though both work properly. In addition to removing the physical drive, what do i do in the bios to allow this configuration? In effect, i do not want D to appear and thereby function at this time
    ALSO
    in terms of cables, are there specific alignments that the cables need to have when placing them into the physical drive? if a pin has the markings MR(master), SL(slave), which arrangement allows the particular choice to work, is it with the little dohicky on the pins or off? and finally, is there a particular arrangement that the white power strips have to be placed as they are placed in the device ( whether its a CD, 3.5 floppy, 5.25 floppy, hard drive, etc ) ? Please advise........Thanks with a SMILE!
     
  2. Jtoast

    Jtoast

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,362
    1) If you physically remove the drive, your bios will make the change automatically (assuming your not running a system 4 or 5 years old).


    2) The jumpers(little pin doohickys :D ) on the back of the drives determine master/slave. the jumper settings are usually printed on the drive itself. if not you may have to go to the manf website/owners manual to determine the correct jumper settings.

    3) The power cables only fit in one way. They are shaped connecters.

    4) If you have only one drive on an ide channel, that drive by definition is the master drive. if you have 2, the boot drive should be made the master, the other the slave.

    any other questions, feel free to ask.
     
  3. chrisbyrd

    chrisbyrd

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    in the bios setup it'll probably be the first option on the list - go into that and just select 'none' for the place where your drive is that you dont want to use any more


    no other settings are needed - easy as that
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/117111

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice