1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Two laptops with very different WiFi strengths

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Ken2000, Nov 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ken2000

    Ken2000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Hi,

    I've got two very similar laptops (one Packard Bell, one Acer), both Windows 7, both Core i3, but even though they are next to each other, the Packard Bell (this one) is showing 5 bar (excellent) Wifi strength, and the Acer (the one that I really need for work) is only showing 1 bar (poor) or no connectivity. The router is in the building next door (10m away).

    The Acer has the following network adapters:
    -Atheros AR5B125 Wireless Network Adapter
    -Microsoft Virtual Wifi Miniport Adapter

    The Packard Bell:
    -Realtek RTL8192CE Wireless LAN 802.11nPCI-E NIC

    Any ideas? I'm at a loss!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you explain - is this a company set up?

    post an xirrus screen shot for both PCs
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/ or
    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Ken2000

    Ken2000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Hi, many thanks for your reply. I've done as you suggested, and attached the two captures. The Wifi is a friend of mine who lives next door, but as I mentioned it works fine on the Packard Bell, and hardly on the Acer, which are next to each other at the moment.

    Both laptops are using the BTHomeHub-85EC network.

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    sorry we do not support using neighbours wifi - even if family
    the T&Cs of most ISP through out the world do specify that the broadband is supplied to be used in the premises only and not shared -

    closing post
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1076800

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice