Two memory modules not working together

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dzsiiizosz

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 23, 2021
Messages
6
I recently had an upgrade on my PC from Intel to AMD, so I had to buy new motherboard and memories as well. Talking about a 2x8GB memory pair(same make and model).
After this upgrade the PC started to shut down when it was under heavy load, talking about more complex games or later I tried out some stress tests, CPU and GPU tests were working fine but memory stress test had the same effect, sudden shut down. After this I tried the memories separately and they were working just fine.
I read about the MemTest 86 memory tester software, and started it with both memories installed, same, sudden shut down in less than 5 minutes. Then I ran it with just one of them, it ran like two and a half hours and it passed. I started the test with the other memory, it's running right now for 30 an our without errors. I have a feeling it will pass as well.
Does anyone have an idea why doesn't it work with both memories installed?

P.S.
I found a few forums where they said the PSU causing this so I changed that as well, same problem.\

Specs:
Motherboard: GIGABYTE B550 Gaming X
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X 3.6GHz
GPU: Asus Rog Strix GTX 1070 OC
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX Black 16GB 2x8GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16 Dual Channel cmk16gx4m2z3200c16
PSU: Corsair RMx Series RM650x (2018) 80 Plus Gold
SSD: SanDisk SD8SN8U1T001122 M2
 
Last edited:

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,502
First of all, you are posting in a hardware forum and no one has any idea what hardware you are running. Post ALL of your exact system specs; ie exact motherboard, exact processor, exact ram chips, etc, etc. Do not post 2x8gig of ram; post the exact brand and model# Do that for ALL of your parts.
 

dzsiiizosz

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 23, 2021
Messages
6
Yeah, sorry about that. I add it here and also edit the original post
Specs:
Motherboard: GIGABYTE B550 Gaming X
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X 3.6GHz
GPU: Asus Rog Strix GTX 1070 OC
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX Black 16GB 2x8GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16 Dual Channel cmk16gx4m2z3200c16
PSU: Corsair RMx Series RM650x (2018) 80 Plus Gold
SSD: SanDisk SD8SN8U1T001122 M2
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,502
Looks like a decent set of parts. I have built a number of ryzen systems using the corsair vengeance ram; works great.
There are bios updates that address memory issues. Are you running the latest bios?
When you run memtest86, do it in the following manner; it may help to narrow down the problem.
Download Memtest 86, make the bootable flash drive, and run it, in CPU Selection, choose Round Robin. Any failure on more than one core is bad ram or motherboard slot. Failures on only one core is bad CPU.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,616
Did you clean install Windows (10 ?) after upgrading the Motherboard, Cpu and Ram ?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,502
While a clean install should be done, it would have no bearing on memtest86. Memtest86 is run from a boot usb so windows does not enter into the issue.

My guess is either a bad motherboard, ram chips installed in wrong slots, ram not fully seated, OR a bad memory controller on the processor [the last is a VERY long shot]
 

dzsiiizosz

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 23, 2021
Messages
6
Did you clean install Windows (10 ?) after upgrading the Motherboard, Cpu and Ram ?
Yes, I did a clean install after the CPU and motherboard change, the memories came a bit later, but I don't think it's an issue. As crjdriver said the MemTest86 is running from a bootable USB, so it's must be hardware issue.
 

dzsiiizosz

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 23, 2021
Messages
6
While a clean install should be done, it would have no bearing on memtest86. Memtest86 is run from a boot usb so windows does not enter into the issue.

My guess is either a bad motherboard, ram chips installed in wrong slots, ram not fully seated, OR a bad memory controller on the processor [the last is a VERY long shot]
I suspect the motherboard as well, it wasn't brand new, it was a returned one... I noticed it only after it arrived.
Do you know any method to prove that the motherboard is defect? So I can send it back.
 

dzsiiizosz

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 23, 2021
Messages
6
Looks like a decent set of parts. I have built a number of ryzen systems using the corsair vengeance ram; works great.
There are bios updates that address memory issues. Are you running the latest bios?
When you run memtest86, do it in the following manner; it may help to narrow down the problem.
Download Memtest 86, make the bootable flash drive, and run it, in CPU Selection, choose Round Robin. Any failure on more than one core is bad ram or motherboard slot. Failures on only one core is bad CPU.
Btw, I'm running the test with round robin today.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,502
The definitive test of a motherboard is to swap it with a known working board. The memtest86 test can give a somewhat convoluted test of the motherboard; failure on more than one cpu core is usually either bad ram OR a failed motherboard slot. To test further, you would swap memory chips in the problem slot.
 

dzsiiizosz

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 23, 2021
Messages
6
The individual tests in different slots with roundrobin setup finished successfully:
  • one test with the first RAM in A2 slot
  • other test with the second RAM in B2 slot
Testing them together, first RAM in A2 and second in B2, or other way around, ends in sudden shutdown in seconds.

New finding!
I installed them now in A1 and A2 slots (which is not recommended) and the test is running now for 20 minutes without issues.

- note that the recommended slots for this motherboard are A2 and B2 when using two RAMs
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,502
If it finishes with the ram in A1/A2 slot, I would suspect a motherboard issue.
When you purchased this board, was it an open box and or refurbished?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top