1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Two subnets, one NIC debian box

Discussion in 'Networking' started by raenk, Feb 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. raenk

    raenk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Hi,

    Trying to configure this on a debian box. I have two subnets, a /29 and a /27

    xxx.xxx.199.208/29
    xxx.xxx.221.64/27

    The /29 IP block is available directly from the network drop
    The /27 IP block is statically routed to xxx.xxx.199.210 of the /29

    I will be using the /27 for containers. But can't get it through using venet. Here are my interfaces:

    # network interface settings
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback


    auto eth0
    allow-hotplug eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
    address xxx.xxx.199.210
    netmask 255.255.255.248
    gateway xxx.xxx.199.209
    broadcast xxx.xxx.199.215
    network xxx.xxx.199.208
    dns-nameservers 8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4


    auto eth0.100
    allow-hotplug eth0.100
    iface eth0.100 inet static
    address xxx.xxx.221.65
    netmask 255.255.255.224
    broadcast xxx.xxx.221.95
    network xxx.xxx.221.64


    auto eth0.101
    allow-hotplug eth0.101
    iface eth0.101 inet static
    address xxx.xxx.221.66
    netmask 255.255.255.224
    broadcast xxx.xxx.221.95
    network xxx.xxx.221.64


    auto eth0.102
    allow-hotplug eth0.102
    iface eth0.102 inet static
    address xxx.xxx.221.67
    netmask 255.255.255.224
    broadcast xxx.xxx.221.95
    network xxx.xxx.221.64


    auto eth0.103
    allow-hotplug eth0.103
    iface eth0.103 inet static
    address xxx.60.221.68
    netmask 255.255.255.224
    broadcast xxx.xxx.221.95
    network xxx.xxx.221.64


    auto eth0.104
    allow-hotplug eth0.104
    iface eth0.104 inet static
    address xxx.xxx.221.69
    netmask 255.255.255.224
    broadcast xxx.xxx.221.95
    network xxx.xxx.221.64


    auto eth0.105
    allow-hotplug eth0.105
    iface eth0.105 inet static
    address xxx.xxx.221.70
    netmask 255.255.255.224
    broadcast xxx.xxx.221.95
    network xxx.xxx.221.64


    iface eth1 inet manual


    iface vmbr0 inet manual
    bridge_ports none
    bridge_stp off
    bridge_fd 0

    I need to assign the /27 IPs to openvz containers, but when pinged I got no response. So, I'm trying to figure it out first if my setup is right, then check on the virtualization layer and at the end at the datacenter.

    Thanks
     
  2. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5,965
    Why do you have so many subinterfaces/VLANs set up? What's the default router for the /27 network?
     
  3. raenk

    raenk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    It is a host node and I need to route the /27 to openvz containers. The /27 is statically routed to xxx.xxx.199.210 ( /29 )
     
  4. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5,965
    How? I don't see any indication in the output you posted where there is a router available set on the /27 network. Also, with that many sub interfaces broken out with individual VLAN IDs, you'll need a router interface per VLAN.
     
  5. raenk

    raenk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    My network knowledge is minimal, I've been trying to set this up to my best, so I'm going to try to answer your questions the best I can, please bare with me.

    The gateway for /29 is xxx.xxx.199.209, which is a physical router. And the /27 is routed to xxx.xxx.199.210

    So, I have direct access to the 4 usable IPs of the /29, and, the /27 is supposed to be statically routed like said.

    I've been told this by the facility staff:
    "add the additional IPs (/27) as interface aliases and set the default route through the main transport block, your /29"
     
  6. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5,965
    I don't understand what they're saying. You need a router interface on the /27. I can't see for the life of me how you can route from the /27 to the /29 even if they say it is statically routed.

    A network diagram will go a long way in properly visualizing this environment and troubleshooting.
     
  7. raenk

    raenk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    They said that a layer 3 device would be needed, either physical or virtual and that most of their users do this but creating aliases, so i went and research about it and ended up with what I posted on my OP.

    Do you think there's something missing on their end?
     
  8. raenk

    raenk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Here's the information received initially:

     
  9. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5,965
    I think there is something missing on your end and poor wording on their end with the informatio they gave you.

    You need a layer 3 (ie router) device between the /29 and /27 as I have been telling you all along. You don't have that. You need to configure your box into a router. It's been a long time since I've messed with Linux/Unix based systems. So I can't help much with you there.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1091309

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice