1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Two video cards?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by lightnb, Sep 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lightnb

    lightnb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    786
    If I install another video card (AGP) in the computer listed below, will it work?

    Can a motherboard support two cards, and can it take both a PCI and an AGP card at the same time?

    My board is an Abit KD7.

    I have a PCI Nvidia card made by pine, with 64 mg of ram.

    I am considering adding a PowerColor Radeon 9600 AGP 8X 256MB DDR Video Card .

    Any advise would be apprecitaed.

    Thanks,

    Nick M Rahl
     
  2. zeddy

    zeddy

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,612
    I would say yes. and either using nView or better still hydravision from ATI having output to two displays.
     
  3. lightnb

    lightnb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    786
    The ATI card says it supports VGA, DVI and TV out.

    Does anyone know how many it can do at a time, and if you can adapt the DVI output to become a second VGA?
     
  4. lightnb

    lightnb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    786
    The ATI card says it supports VGA, DVI and TV out.

    Does anyone know how many it can do at a time, and if you can adapt the DVI output to become a second VGA?
     
  5. zeddy

    zeddy

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,612
    Unless the card specifically says it has dual VGA outputs the two differing connectors are an either or but not both. But as you have a PCI card then you have one output from it and the other from the Radeon.
     
  6. zeddy

    zeddy

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,612
    i.e.

    DVI + TV out or VGA + TV out not DVI and VGA
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,843
    First Name:
    Rob
    See this: http://www.ati.com/products/radeon9600/radeon9600pro/specs.html

    "Display Support
    VGA connector for analog CRT
    S-video connector for TV / VCR 1
    DVI-I connector for digital flat panel 2
    Independent resolutions and refresh rates for any two connected displays
    1 Optional S-Video to Composite Adapter available separately from ATI Online Store.
    2 Optional DVI to VGA adapter allows connection to a second VGA monitor.
    Available separately from your retailer or the ATI Online Store."
     
  8. Deathdealer

    Deathdealer Guest

    whats the point of having two cards?

    it wouldnt change a thing

    and u would just be wasting money...

    u prob dont have anything better to spend it on huh?!!!!
     
  9. lightnb

    lightnb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    786
    What do you mean it wouldn't change a thing?

    A second card would add an additional VGA screen to my system, which would be very useful for the line of work that I am in.

    Programs such as word, outlook, IE, etc., really only need one screen.

    However, when you work with graphic design/ animation/ video editing software, it is very advantageous to have extra desktop space to work with.

    For example, in Adobe Live Motion, you have the composition window (which takes almost all the screen for a large composition), and you have the time-line window, which also takes most of the screen.

    Instead of constantly switching between the windows, it is much more productive to put the two of them side by side.

    The same goes for Avid, After Effects, and Premier. All of your editing controls go on the left screen, while you source files (the raw footage your editing) goes on the right. In this situation, you would also have a DV/ Super VHS deck to record the final output to. (which is what the TV out is for).

    The Recording deck would also have a standard television monitor attached, so you can see what is being recorded, and also have some idea of what your composition will look like on the end users television set (which is a much lower resolution than a computer monitor)

    I figure that saving $300 per week in lost productivity easily justifies a one time cost of $150.

    -Nick M. Rahl
     
  10. lightnb

    lightnb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    786
    If the card has 256 MB of DDR RAM, and I'm using an adapter so I can run two VGA screens, do both screens get 128 MB of the Ram, or is it allocated on a "by Need" basis?

    (let's say I'm watching a DVD on one screen, and the other is blank)

    Thanks for all of your help thus far,

    NMR
     
  11. catlady13

    catlady13

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    I have run dual monitors by having two video cards in one pc . One was agp and the other pci .. put in the proper drivers and it worked just fine.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/167872

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice