Two video cards?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

lightnb

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 16, 2002
Messages
786
If I install another video card (AGP) in the computer listed below, will it work?

Can a motherboard support two cards, and can it take both a PCI and an AGP card at the same time?

My board is an Abit KD7.

I have a PCI Nvidia card made by pine, with 64 mg of ram.

I am considering adding a PowerColor Radeon 9600 AGP 8X 256MB DDR Video Card .

Any advise would be apprecitaed.

Thanks,

Nick M Rahl
 
Joined
May 3, 2003
Messages
2,612
I would say yes. and either using nView or better still hydravision from ATI having output to two displays.
 

lightnb

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 16, 2002
Messages
786
The ATI card says it supports VGA, DVI and TV out.

Does anyone know how many it can do at a time, and if you can adapt the DVI output to become a second VGA?
 

lightnb

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 16, 2002
Messages
786
The ATI card says it supports VGA, DVI and TV out.

Does anyone know how many it can do at a time, and if you can adapt the DVI output to become a second VGA?
 
Joined
May 3, 2003
Messages
2,612
Unless the card specifically says it has dual VGA outputs the two differing connectors are an either or but not both. But as you have a PCI card then you have one output from it and the other from the Radeon.
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
See this: http://www.ati.com/products/radeon9600/radeon9600pro/specs.html

"Display Support
VGA connector for analog CRT
S-video connector for TV / VCR 1
DVI-I connector for digital flat panel 2
Independent resolutions and refresh rates for any two connected displays
1 Optional S-Video to Composite Adapter available separately from ATI Online Store.
2 Optional DVI to VGA adapter allows connection to a second VGA monitor.
Available separately from your retailer or the ATI Online Store."
 
D

Deathdealer

whats the point of having two cards?

it wouldnt change a thing

and u would just be wasting money...

u prob dont have anything better to spend it on huh?!!!!
 

lightnb

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 16, 2002
Messages
786
What do you mean it wouldn't change a thing?

A second card would add an additional VGA screen to my system, which would be very useful for the line of work that I am in.

Programs such as word, outlook, IE, etc., really only need one screen.

However, when you work with graphic design/ animation/ video editing software, it is very advantageous to have extra desktop space to work with.

For example, in Adobe Live Motion, you have the composition window (which takes almost all the screen for a large composition), and you have the time-line window, which also takes most of the screen.

Instead of constantly switching between the windows, it is much more productive to put the two of them side by side.

The same goes for Avid, After Effects, and Premier. All of your editing controls go on the left screen, while you source files (the raw footage your editing) goes on the right. In this situation, you would also have a DV/ Super VHS deck to record the final output to. (which is what the TV out is for).

The Recording deck would also have a standard television monitor attached, so you can see what is being recorded, and also have some idea of what your composition will look like on the end users television set (which is a much lower resolution than a computer monitor)

I figure that saving $300 per week in lost productivity easily justifies a one time cost of $150.

-Nick M. Rahl
 

lightnb

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 16, 2002
Messages
786
If the card has 256 MB of DDR RAM, and I'm using an adapter so I can run two VGA screens, do both screens get 128 MB of the Ram, or is it allocated on a "by Need" basis?

(let's say I'm watching a DVD on one screen, and the other is blank)

Thanks for all of your help thus far,

NMR
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
853
I have run dual monitors by having two video cards in one pc . One was agp and the other pci .. put in the proper drivers and it worked just fine.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top