1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Two Video Jacks Always = Dual Monitor Capable?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Anchoret, Apr 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Anchoret

    Anchoret Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    310
    Simple question:

    I want to blow off a trouble-prone ATI video card and revert to native motherboard video.

    I need dual-monitor capability. The MB has the usual two different monitor jacks, but says nothing in the docs about being dual monitor capable...or not.

    Do two jacks = dual monitor capability? How can I tell?

    Many thanks for any help with this!
     
  2. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    I think you'll need an add in video card to support dual monitors :) The two connections are there in case you need either one of them, so you don't need an adapter.
     
  3. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    In most cases you can use the two ports for two separate monitors at the same time, even from onboard video.

    You can also post your system specs especially the motherboard and maybe someone will have the same board or is even doing it.

    Also what is the ATI card you have and what is the issue with it?
     
  4. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    Seriously???????? Wow! Guess I've never been able to do that :( :( :(
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    I've done it with several ATI and NVidia based motherboards.
     
  6. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    (y) Thanks for the info :) I'll bow out now :D
     
  7. Anchoret

    Anchoret Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    310
    That's what I thought, but there was no documentation of it.

    In XP's Display>Settings window, I remember it did show monitors 1 & 2 with the native chip when both monitors were plugged in. Does that mean for sure that the motherboard's video chip up for both?

    Motherboard

    Manufacturer BIOSTAR Group
    Model A760G M2+
    Version 6.0
    Chipset vendor AMD
    Chipset model 780G
    Chipset revision 00
    Southbridge vendor ATI
    Southbridge model SB700
    Southbridge revision 00
    BIOS
    Brand American Megatrends Inc.
    Version 080014
    Date 01/13/2009

    Graphics Monitor
    Name F19 on ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO
    Current Resolution 1366x768 pixels
    Work Resolution 1366x740 pixels
    State enabled, primary, output devices support
    Monitor Width 1366
    Monitor Height 768
    Monitor Bpp 32 bits per pixel
    Monitor Frequency 60 Hz
    Device \\.\DISPLAY1\Monitor0
    Name F19 on ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO
    Current Resolution 1366x768 pixels
    Work Resolution 1366x768 pixels
    State enabled, output devices support
    Monitor Width 1366
    Monitor Height 768
    Monitor Bpp 32 bits per pixel
    Monitor Frequency 60 Hz
    Device \\.\DISPLAY2\Monitor0
    GPU RV630
    Device ID 0000-0000
    Subvendor Undefined (0000)
    Technology 65 nm
    Die Size 153 nm²
    Transistors 390 M
    Release Date 2007
    DirectX Support 10.0
    DirectX Shader Model 4.0
    OpenGL Support 3.0
    ROPs 4
    Shaders 120 unified
    Bus Width 128 Bit

    Typically, when I loaded Firefox, the video would drop out, the screen would go blank and show the monitor's native NO VIDEO INPUT icon, then come back on.

    Then it started dropping out and not coming back up without resetting the computer.

    I looked around and it turned out that it was running not one, but two of those stupid ATI hotkey ATI2EVXX.EXE things -- which were causing a huge amount of delay in getting the system running at every boot, so I blew them off, which resulted in a truly marked improvement in bootup...BUT I still was experiencing these dropouts.

    The video is for nothing but my recording readouts in Reaper, so I don't need heavy vid processing capabilities. What I NEED is rock-solid system performance.

    Here's a current HijackThis to show that I have a really clean setup -- it's on a dedicated audio recording box:

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 1:57:39 PM, on 4/4/2010
    Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6000.16791)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\COMODO\COMODO Internet Security\cmdagent.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\COMODO\COMODO Internet Security\cfp.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://ipid.shat.net/iponly/
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [COMODO Internet Security] "C:\Program Files\COMODO\COMODO Internet Security\cfp.exe" -h
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O20 - AppInit_DLLs: C:\WINDOWS\system32\guard32.dll
    O23 - Service: COMODO Internet Security Helper Service (cmdAgent) - COMODO - C:\Program Files\COMODO\COMODO Internet Security\cmdagent.exe

    --
     
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Dunno, some contradicting info there. ATI does says it can support SurroundView for a total of 4 monitors when adding a dedicated video card which would imply two monitors running off the motherboard. But its also up to the motherboard manufacturer to implement some of these extra options. All you can do is try it.
     
  9. Anchoret

    Anchoret Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    310
    OK, but as I asked, if there is no video card, just the onboard video chip with the two monitors plugged into its jacks and Display settings shows 2 monitors, does that mean that they are being supported by the onboard chip?

    Or is that an error in XP?
     
  10. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    In XP if it shows 2 monitors under Display options then that is indeed a good sign, in Vista and 7 it doesn't give you that. But showing two monitors or not showing 2 monitors in XP is no guarantee one way or the the other.

    And what I was saying is that if they are saying 4 monitors can be supported by adding a video card to the motherboard, with a video card being able to support 2 monitors in that time frame, then the other two must be supported by the motherboard. A video card doesn't doesn't give any extra abilities to the integrated video.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/914693

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice