Type of memory for Dimension 9200/DXP061

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Skinner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
165
I am trying to overclock my newly-installed Q6700 by fitting new higher speed RAM.

I currently have PC2-4200 533MHz RAM, and I think my machine accepts CL5 (whatever it is - I know it is latency). Would it accept CL6 or CL4 too? I have my eye on this: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/250915109...AX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649#ht_500wt_1351 and they are CL6

Before anyone shouts, I want to say that it has recently been discovered that XPS410/Dimension 9200 machines CAN accept up to 8Gb of RAM contrary to what Dell themselves say.
 

Skinner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
165
OK have done that thanks. And it tells me how much is in each slot but does not tell me what type or speed, only suggests types and speeds I could buy...

I was looking at some utilities that tell you speed of RAM and all of them were saying my memory speed was 667MHz (333.? x 2) but I knew that the modules were PC2-4200 533MHz! I rebooted and entered the BIOS; in there it said the memory was running at 667MHz, where BEFORE I INSTALLED THE QUAD Q6700 it showed 533MHz! Has the system raised the speed of the memory automatically?
 

Attachments

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
What operating system is installed on the machine?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Your machine supports DDR2 PC2-5300 and DDR2 PC2-6400 modules.

You currently have 4 DIMMS of DDR2 PC2-5300 installed (2x1GB and 2x512MB).

As you said, there are disagreements as to whether or not the motherboard and BIOS will allow for anything over 4GB of RAM.

To not waste my money, I would go with four 1GB DDR2 PC2-6400 modules. But if you have the money to spend, you could always see if it supports the 8GB (assuming you have a 64bit OS).
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,102
What's the 7-character service tag number of that Dell Dimension 9200?

-------------------------------------------------------

According to the specifications site for the Dell Dimension 9200, it supports a maximum of 4 GB of RAM and supports these 1 GB modules:

DDR2 PC2-4200 (DDR2-533)

DDR2 PC2-5300 (DDR2-667), CL=5, 1.8V, Unbuffered, Non-ECC

DDR2 PC2-6400 (DDR2-800)

-------------------------------------------------------
 

Skinner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
165
What operating system is installed on the machine?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Your machine supports DDR2 PC2-5300 and DDR2 PC2-6400 modules.

You currently have 4 DIMMS of DDR2 PC2-5300 installed (2x1GB and 2x512MB).

As you said, there are disagreements as to whether or not the motherboard and BIOS will allow for anything over 4GB of RAM.

To not waste my money, I would go with four 1GB DDR2 PC2-6400 modules. But if you have the money to spend, you could always see if it supports the 8GB (assuming you have a 64bit OS).
OS is Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit. This means I can see 192Gb of RAM.

PC2-5300 - well this is not true - I actually have 4 DIMMS of DDR2 PC2-4200 !

As for the speed of my RAM changing from 533MHz to 667MHz (when the RAM is PC2-4200):- this is a Dell machine therefore the BIOS does not allow options to change speed of RAM/FSB etc so it wasn't me who changed RAM speed! I honestly think the system automatically adjusted when I fitted the Q6700 quad after having a E6420 dual core.
 

Skinner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
165
What's the 7-character service tag number of that Dell Dimension 9200?

-------------------------------------------------------

According to the specifications site for the Dell Dimension 9200, it supports a maximum of 4 GB of RAM and supports these 1 GB modules:

DDR2 PC2-4200 (DDR2-533)

DDR2 PC2-5300 (DDR2-667), CL=5, 1.8V, Unbuffered, Non-ECC

DDR2 PC2-6400 (DDR2-800)

-------------------------------------------------------

Service Tag is 99T7N2J. I know Dell etc SAY it only supports 4GB of RAM but people on the web have actually installed 8GB and it recognized it. At the time (2007) there probably weren't 2GB + mem modules and most OSs were 32 bit (can't see more than 4GB) so Dell thought it prudent to SAY that. Ahem.

Thanks for reply.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,102
OS is Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit. This means I can see 192Gb of RAM.

PC2-5300 - well this is not true - I actually have 4 DIMMS of DDR2 PC2-4200 !
It doesn't matter if your computer is running Windows XP or Vista or 7 or if it's 32-bit or 64-bit. If the motherboard supports a maximum of 4 GB of RAM, that's the most it can use.

DDR2 PC2-5300 appears to be the recommended module for it, so you may be handicapping it by using the slower DDR2 PC2-4200 module.

---------------------------------------------------------
 

Skinner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
165
It doesn't matter if your computer is running Windows XP or Vista or 7 or if it's 32-bit or 64-bit. If the motherboard supports a maximum of 4 GB of RAM, that's the most it can use.

DDR2 PC2-5300 appears to be the recommended module for it, so you may be handicapping it by using the slower DDR2 PC2-4200 module.

---------------------------------------------------------
See other post please.

Yeah but if I am running PC2-4200 how come it's running at 667MHz?

I only put 533MHz RAM in because that is what it came with: 4 x 512MB PC2-4200.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,102
Service Tag is 99T7N2J. I know Dell etc SAY it only supports 4GB of RAM but people on the web have actually installed 8GB and it recognized it. At the time (2007) there probably weren't 2G + mem modules and most OSs were 32 bit (can't see more than 4GB) so Dell thought it prudent to SAY that. Ahem.

Thanks for reply.
According to that service tag number, here is the support site that's specific ONLY to your Dell Dimension 9200 desktop.

According to its system configuration section, it came with 1 GB of DDR2 PC2-4200 (DDR2-533) RAM.

Since it has dual channel support and advises to install modules in pairs, I'll assume it came with 2 - 512 MB modules.

Most of the list appears to be in German, so it's difficult for me to read all the specs.

-----------------------------------------------------
 

Skinner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
165
According to that service tag number, here is the support site that's specific ONLY to your Dell Dimension 9200 desktop.

According to its system configuration section, it came with 1 GB of DDR2 PC2-4200 (DDR2-533) RAM.

Since it has dual channel support and advises to install modules in pairs, I'll assume it came with 2 - 512 MB modules.

Most of the list appears to be in German, so it's difficult for me to read all the specs.

-----------------------------------------------------
Hey thanks for the link: loads of stuff to explore! :)

I didn't buy it new, it was ALMOST new from eBay (made 12/2006, bought 02/2007).

So you see I was just following instructions when I put in the PC2-4200. But how come all these utilities like PC Wizard and even the BIOS itself identifies it at the wrong speed?
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,102
Hey thanks for the link: loads of stuff to explore! :)

I didn't buy it new, it was ALMOST new from eBay (made 12/2006, bought 02/2007).

So you see I was just following instructions when I put in the PC2-4200. But how come all these utilities like PC Wizard and even the BIOS itself identifies it at the wrong speed?
With 4 GB installed, I doubt if you'll even notice a difference between DDR2 PC2-4200 and DDR2 PC2-5300 modules.

I can't tell you why the BIOS and speed is different. It may have a different motherboard than what it originally came with.

---------------------------------------------------------
 

Skinner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
165
With 4 GB installed, I doubt if you'll even notice a difference between DDR2 PC2-4200 and DDR2 PC2-5300 modules.

I can't tell you why the BIOS and speed is different. It may have a different motherboard than what it originally came with.

---------------------------------------------------------
There is only 3GB installed not 4. I was thinking of overclocking and with software overclock (ClockGen) I get to about 2.8GHz and it locks up. I figured this is because of the memory being slow.

Different mobo: I doubt it it's the 0WG855, with P965/G965 chipset.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,102
Overclocking is something that I've never done and don't recommend doing anyway, so I'll pass to someone else who's experienced in that area.

---------------------------------------------------------
 

Skinner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
165
Overclocking is something that I've never done and don't recommend doing anyway, so I'll pass to someone else who's experienced in that area.

---------------------------------------------------------
Thanks for the help. The Dell link was great, got a System '"I'll Look After You" utility!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top