1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ubuntu 19.04 Stuck on login screen!

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by Timbaktu, Oct 3, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Timbaktu

Timbaktu Thread Starter

Hi guys, hope you all are having a blessed day. I’m new to linux system. I have recently installed a USB Boot Ubuntu 19.04 on my MacBook air. It was working fine. And now every time i start the laptop its stuck on the login screen. It asks me to enter my password and when i do the screen freezes. I tried using almost all the keyboard keys available to pull out terminal and nothing. Would appreciate all your answers.

etherdose likes this.
  2. Timbaktu

Timbaktu Thread Starter

This is the screen i get

Attached Files:

3. SeanLaurence

SeanLaurence

First Name:
    Sean
    That is unusual, Most people install Linux on PC hardware as MacOS is just a nice as Linux.
    However, me sitting in judgement does not help you with your problem.
    There is a policy on this website to not help break into things, for all anyone knows the laptop is stolen.
    You have two choices here: Since it is a new install, you could re-instrall the linux an go from there.
    If you have data you need to recover, you could boot off of your USB and mount the hard drive to get the data off. I am sorry I can't help you with figuring out why your ubuntu is hanging.

4. Timbaktu

Timbaktu Thread Starter

Hi Sean, Thanks for your reply.

I’m aware of the site rules. I simply switched operating system because my new job is based on a linux system. And no sir this laptop is not stolen and i know better not to break into stuff!