1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Uegent Help

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by madmadmaddy, Apr 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. madmadmaddy

    madmadmaddy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    i locked a folder containing some pictures using a software. firstly the folder had icon of that software,
    but suddenly one day i dont know how the icon changed to the icon of control pannel!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    now on double clicking on that folder control pannel opens!. in c-prompt the folder is having a weired number attached to it like New Folder{21EATA19-1060-10B2DD} like that.
    i have uninstalled that software but nothing has changed!!
    sir please tell me a way to recover those phothographs,
    cause they are very precious to me.
     
  2. peterh40

    peterh40

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,438
    First Name:
    Peter
    1. Open Properties of the icon
    2. Select Customize, then Change icon
    3. Enter '%systemroot%\system32\shell32.dll' for the file.
    4. Select a folder icon from the icons below
    5. Click ok
     
  3. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I don't think the poster is overly concerned with the icon picture on these files but instead is concerned about not being able to open the files.

    Uninstalling the software certainly isn't going to help, and may prevent the files from opening. What is the software you used? Did you reinstall it?
     
  4. madmadmaddy

    madmadmaddy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    the software was "folder acess" a free ware from some site.
    it has worked properly for 1 year.
    yes i did reinstalled it but nothing happened.
     
  5. madmadmaddy

    madmadmaddy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    hi this solution is not working cause clicking on properties dont show customize opton.
    it is showing only general properties. there are read only n hidden option, n a advanced 1 which shows further attributes.
    pls help me out.

    i also had 1 solution in yahoo answers by renaming the folder by c-prompt.
    but i dont know how to do this.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/703204

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice