1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ulead VideoStudio 10.0 (EasyCap)

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by stuartwatts, Jun 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. stuartwatts

    stuartwatts Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I have purchased the above to allow me to copy my VHS videos to DVD. I am struggling to get this working as I cannot get to even view the Video in the cpature window.

    I am not clear what the settings are that I need but am confident that I have the video connected to the PC correctly.

    See attached.

    Hope someone can help.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. pip22

    pip22

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,536
    Have you connected the videocam to the PC using Firewire as is usually required for this type of work?
     
  3. stuartwatts

    stuartwatts Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Hi, why would I need Firewire? I am not using the webcam but am looking to view and copy from the VHS feed?
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    I have heard of some people have had problems with Ulead. What happens when you push play on the VHS player and then push capture?

    Tell us how you have it hooked up I used DVD express for mine.

    RCA from player/camera to box that changed it to Digital then USB 2.0 to PC. Not great but was OK.
     
  5. stuartwatts

    stuartwatts Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    That does not work I'm afraid. I cannot see the VHS video in the preview pane for U Lead. I have tested the VHS direct to the TV and it is playing OK via that just not through to the PC.

    In term of how I have it wired up, I have a scart connector in the VHS direct to the U lead connectors. I have not loaded any other specific software. Is this what is needed to translate the VHS to view on the PC?

    Ta
     
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Found this on another site might help

    In the ULead VideoStudio Application. Go to "Capture" tabbed panel. Select "Options" then "Video and Audio Capture Property Settings...". A window should pop up.

    In the "Source" tabbed panel. Change the "Input Source" drop down menu to either "Video Composite" or "Video S-Video" depending on whether you are using the yellow or S-Video picture lead.
    Change the "TV System" combo-box to PAL for colour and NTSC for black and white. On my computer S-Video option is showing black and white when using my Sky HD box, don't know why this is yet.
    Try the above and you should get a picture. You can also change the frame rate and other compression techniques etc.
    If it still doesn't work try changing your digital/sky/vcr/xbox picture settings to PAL for colour or others for picture preference.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1057360