Solved Ultra Widescreen Monitor Display Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

chapp

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
8
Hi, I just bought a Samsung ultra widescreen monitor but the text is blurred and the image is stretchd - so annoying. I tried downloading and installing the drivers both from samsung and nvida but nothing helped. Can someone please help me?

Graphics driver is Nvida quadro p620. Thanks!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Pandaros

Wayne
Joined
Sep 26, 2019
Messages
10
Hello Chapp,
What is the model number of the Samsung? There might be some setting that stretches the image to fit the wide screen. My Samsung monitor has two settings that could cause this. In my user manual, these are listed under the heading "Picture Size".
 

chapp

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
8
Hello Chapp,
What is the model number of the Samsung? There might be some setting that stretches the image to fit the wide screen. My Samsung monitor has two settings that could cause this. In my user manual, these are listed under the heading "Picture Size".
Samsung S34j550
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,753
The Samsung S34J550 34" UltraWide Monitor has a native resolution of 3440 X 1440 and a refresh rate of 75 Hz.

The most current Windows 10 64-bit driver for the NVIDIA Quadro P620 graphics card is 431.94.

---------------------------------------------------------------
 
Last edited:

chapp

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
8
The Samsung S34J550 34" UltraWide Monitor has a native resolution of 3440 X 1440 and a refresh rate of 60 Hz.

The most current Windows 10 64-bit driver for the NVIDIA Quadro P620 graphics card is 431.94.

---------------------------------------------------------------
Hi flavallee, I just installed that one from the link you provided but it's still not working
 

Pandaros

Wayne
Joined
Sep 26, 2019
Messages
10
Page 29 of your users manual says this:

Picture Size
Change the picture size. ―This menu is not available when PIP/PBP Mode is set to On and the Size is set to (PBP Mode). ―This option is not available when FreeSync is enabled.
In PC mode • Auto: Display the picture according to the aspect ratio of the input source. • Wide: Display the picture in full screen regardless of the aspect ratio of the input source.
In AV mode • 4:3: Display the picture with an aspect ratio of 4:3. Suitable for videos and standard broadcasts. • 16:9: Display the picture with an aspect ratio of 16:9. • 21:9: Display the picture with an aspect ratio of 21:9. • Screen Fit: Display the picture with the original aspect ratio without cutting off. ―The function may not be supported depending on the ports provided with the product. ―Changing the screen size is available when the following conditions are satisfied. ―A digital output device is connected using the HDMI/DP cable. ―The input signal is 480p, 576p, 720p, or 1080p and monitor can display normally (Not every model can support all of these signals.). ―This can only be set when the external input is connected through HDMI/DP and PC/AV Mode is set to AV.

Looks like you may be set on "Wide" instead of "Auto". Awesome monitor BTW.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,462
Chapp,

I've removed your request for remote assistance as we don't offer this service for the protection of our members. All assistance is to be done on the public forums. Thank you for understanding.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,753
Are you using the native 3440 X 1440 resolution for that ultra-wide monitor, or are you using a different resolution?

--------------------------------------------------------------
 

chapp

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
8
Are you using the native 3440 X 1440 resolution for that ultra-wide monitor, or are you using a different resolution?

--------------------------------------------------------------
There's no 3440*1440 option, the highst available resolution is 1920*1080
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2014
Messages
336
sounds like you have the wrong connection going on (e.g a display port / HDMI splitter) or using a bad cable or a cable that isn't in specification to go full 2k with the cable and or port you are using.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,753
3440 X 1440 resolution has an aspect ratio of 21:9
1920 X 1080 resolution has an aspect ratio of 16:9
That's why your monitor's display looks washed out and stretched horizontally with a 1920 X 1080 resolution.

Your monitor appears to have HDMI 1.4 and HDMI 2.0 connectors.
How is your graphics card connected to your monitor?

Have you gone into Settings - System - Display and checked the display resolution and the advanced display settings?

----------------------------------------------------------------
 
Last edited:

chapp

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
8
3440 X 1440 resolution has an aspect ratio of 21:9
1920 X 1080 resolution has an aspect ratio of 16:9
That's why your monitor's display looks washed out and stretched horizontally with a 1920 X 1080 resolution.

Your monitor appears to have HDMI 1.4 and HDMI 2.0 connectors.
How is your graphics card connected to your monitor?

Have you gone into Settings - System - Display and checked the display resolution and the advancved display settings?

----------------------------------------------------------------
I've checked all the settings and tried installing all the drivers. A mini display port on the card and HDMI on the monitor
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,753
Are you saying the graphics card does not have a HDMI port?

Are you using some sort of DisplayPort/HDMI adapter on the cable?

--------------------------------------------------------------
 

Couriant

James
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
36,265
Display Resolution
4x 4096x2160 @ 60Hz
4x 5120x2880 @ 60Hz

The card has 4 Mini-DP ports. So the card can handle it... so I would think either the cord is not correct/working or there is an adapter, or the TV is not seeing/outputting the correct resolution.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,753
chapp:

This is out of my expertise, so I'll leave you with Wayne and James.

--------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top