1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Umountable Boot Volume

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Velmarg, Jan 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Velmarg

Velmarg Thread Starter

Hi. This is my first time posting on a tech forum of any sort... It's a long one too (or maybe it's not, since I have no point of reference), so bear with me.

I have an older Compaq Presario (2002, I think) with Windows XP. I went to turn on my computer this morning, and I'm getting a blue screen that gives me this error.

UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME

I read somewhere about this: "If the second parameter (0xbbbbbbbb) of the Stop error is 0xC0000032, then the file system is damaged."

...and that's indeed the case.

Whenever I've run into a problem like this in the past, I've always fallen back on my Compaq recovery CD, with its Factory Restore option - this time, however, there is a lot of stuff on my hard drive that I don't want to lose.

I visited microsoft.com, and their solution was to restart the computer to the "Recovery Console," which, unless I'm reading things incorrectly, requires that you start the computer with your Windows XP CD. That's my problem; when I bought my computer, it came with Windows XP installed. I don't have a Windows XP CD - nor do I know anyone that does.

Is there any way I can repair this hard drive without having that CD? I really don't want to have to resort to the Factory Restore option. On the other hand, there are a lot of things I need this computer for, and if I don't find another solution soon, I won't have much choice.