1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unable to access ftp servers

Discussion in 'Networking' started by gmod, Apr 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gmod

    gmod Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    I have Verizon DSL service, with a Westell 2200 modem. I cannot access ftp servers. I am using Windows XP home. I disabled the modem's firewall, and the Windows XP firewall. If I use a dial-up connection from the same computer, I can connect with no problem. Verizon tech. support says they cannot assist with ftp issues. I would appreciate any help, and please keep it simple. I'm far from being a pro at this. :)
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    What ftp client are you using?
     
  3. dtugg

    dtugg

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    345
    Are using the FTP service of the company that has your dial-up? We will allow anyone to FTP to our server if: 1. They are on one of our networks 2. They have a valid user name and password. More than likely you're seeing an IP address restriction. Does is allow you to connect and then die at the password prompt, or does it never connect at all. I'd call the folks at the FTP location and forget about the crappy Verizon techs.
     
  4. gmod

    gmod Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    I was trying to connect to a friend's server using IE, and I cannot connect at all. I get an error message telling me that I can't access the server. My friend was trying to help me over the phone. He had me try to connect to another ftp site, and the same thing happened. I suspect that it's an issue with the modem (which is also a router).
     
  5. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    I personally would try and use a real ftp client instead of IE. Smart Ftp and Filezilla are really good.

    Check this setting in your IE options. Tools > Internet Options > Advanced Tab.

    See pic
     

    Attached Files:

  6. gmod

    gmod Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    I can try an ftp client. I already have that setting checked. Thanks.
     
  7. gmod

    gmod Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    I downloaded Smart Ftp and it seems to be working. I discovered the problem when I tried to connect to a friend's server in order to download files. Now that I've found a fix, his server is down. He had to "borrow" the processor for a new computer that he's building. It'll be about a week until his server is back up. Anyway, thanks for the assistance.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/224509

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice