Unable to access many MS sites

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

paulmr

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
5
For the last three weeks I have been unable to access many areas of MS. Unfortunately, at the time, I did not have occasion to
access the sites to discover the problem so can no longer recall
what activity I may have been engaged in at the time; however,
no hardware installs or major program installs/driver changes occured.
- can still access Windows Update, PocetPC support site, Hotmail but urls such as Windows
XP or Downloads pages fail.
- prior to this, complete normal access.
- as in prior thread with similar problem, History/Cashe had been cleared.
I have the same access problem using IE6, Mozilla 1.3b, Opera 7
NetCaptor, NeoPlanet.
I am connected using 10/100 NIC Cable on Earthlink/AttComcast w/ Motorola SB4200 External modem.
ZoneAlarmPro updated/installed.
I am able to access these sites away from my primary computer within the same zip/area code location using business system.
About two weeks prior to this phenomena I was forced to re-install WinXP - successfully- but installation forced install into C:\
partition of my two partition C: D: HDD. Before re-install, Windows
resided in the D: partition. All components/software seemed to
function appropriately after re-install/
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
Open Internet Explorer (IE); Tools menu; Internet Options; Advanced tab; Click the Restore Defaults button; Click Apply; Click Ok. Close IE.

***

Open (IE); Click the Tools menu; Point to Internet Options; Click the Security tab; Click the Default Level button; Click Apply; Click Ok. Close IE.

Open IE; Click the Tools menu; Internet Options; Click the Security tab; Click the Custom Level button; Click Apply; Click Ok. Close IE. Start IE as desired.

Get, update and run Spybot. *** Do not Fix anything but pre-selected problems after you run the search.
 

paulmr

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
5
Followed your default resets Styxx but still running into the same
problem <using www.microsoft.com as test>
Not familiar with Spybot - I run NAV PestPatrol and AdAware and
come up with the usual spyware cookies . . .
-Get, update and run Spybot. *** Do not Fix anything but pre-selected problems after you run the search.

What update do you suggest? For Spybot?
 

paulmr

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
5
Spybot run and checked entries deleted . . .
Continue to not access microsoft.com/msn.com etc.
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
check to ensure that you have not blocked msn sites with ZA Pro and/or Internet Explorer.
 

paulmr

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
5
ZAPro shows no blocking of MS components other then recent Outlook addition wich is blocked to the Internet.
IE shows no listing within Security Restricted section. . .
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top