1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

unable to browse internet but can ping

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ferhanz, Jul 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ferhanz

    ferhanz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Hello All,
    i am using Win Xp Home and as my subject suggests that i can ping websites but am unable to browse the internet ...what might be the problem..whenever i open IE it says Page Cannopt Be Displayed but i can ping any website and it is resolved correctly


    Farhan
     
  2. ferhanz

    ferhanz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    any one ??
     
  3. helps

    helps

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    has the internet ever worked before? if not you might be running under a domain. If this is true windows xp home does not support domains.
     
  4. ferhanz

    ferhanz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    yes the internet worked before, and suddenly it stopped and i am not on the domain its just a simple workgroup, rest of the pc running on it are fine
     
  5. helps

    helps

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    how many computers are on your network? you might not have enought ip addresses to assign.
     
  6. ferhanz

    ferhanz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    i have a switch of 10 ports and there are only 6 pc's, and its on the network i mean it can access files over the network but cannot browse internet
     
  7. helps

    helps

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    whats assigning your ip addresses tho? or are they manually configured
     
  8. ferhanz

    ferhanz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    its automatic i.e 192.168.0.110
     
  9. helps

    helps

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    do you play any games or anything that just requires a direct ip like aim or something would work also
     
  10. ferhanz

    ferhanz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    No nothing is working except that the ping command is reoslving the addresses, i wonder why only the ping command is working
     
  11. helps

    helps

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    any firewalls? if so disable and then try. but first in cmd type ipconfig /release all then ipconfig /renew all
     
  12. helps

    helps

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    that fix it?
     
  13. ferhanz

    ferhanz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    no :( it is saying no such adatpter
     
  14. ferhanz

    ferhanz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    there are few other problems with the laptop i am installing a fresh copy of windows
     
  15. helps

    helps

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    good idea either your adapter drivers got screwed up, or windows did
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/480398

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice