Unable to connect to internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pthadani

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
6
Hello,
I have a modem & a wifi router connected in series. i have recently bought a new cell phone having wifi. After connecting it to my wifi i am not able to browse the internet. i am connected to the wifi but not able to browse, although i am able to browse the internet throught the wifi with my laptop.
I checked the DHCP table of the modem & my android device was assigned a ip , but somehow i am not able to browse the internet. i also cross checked with couple of other device but the result is the same. I am only able to browse through my laptop & not through any other device. The networking guy had somehow set my my connection like this & there is not any MAC address filtering i have cross verified it.:confused:
Can someone please help me out?????
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
what other devices do you have

can we see an ipconfig /all from the pc

how is the modem connected to the router - what ports are used - is the modem cable connected to a LAN port on the router or the WAN/internet port ?


------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should also work for windows 8
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

pthadani

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
6
Hi wayne,
Currently i have a dell studio laptop from which i am able to browse the internet, & i have two android devices HTC incredible s & Samsung galaxy ace 5830.Both the devices are not able to access the net.
I couldnt run the ipconfig command on the android devices. however here are the results i obtained from my laptop.

Moreover my modem is conencted to the router through a lan port.

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Pankaj-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Peer-Peer
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-25-56-E4-10-23
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-B9-0B-79-8B
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-D6-16-37-04
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c822:4da4:dd9c:47eb%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 30 December 2012 17:25:09
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 02 January 2013 19:41:38
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184558806
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-F6-DE-5C-00-26-B9-02-2D-D4
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{1F62D0AE-8630-4290-A94F-0D419FA045BE}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Reusable ISATAP Interface {F16D6260-8C41-4E7D-942B-501C49D94016}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{9249FB99-B06D-4994-BA55-B33C5853DED0}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 19:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:953c:146e:d302:8a30:22a2(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::146e:d302:8a30:22a2%27(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{34FD962C-C596-45CD-AE62-9487678A029F}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #5
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
.

Can you figure out something from this?????
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
that looks OK
i have two android devices HTC incredible s & Samsung galaxy ace 5830.Both the devices are not able to access the net.
are you able to read the network settings from one of the devices

IP address
gateway
dns
information
 

pthadani

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
6
yes ... i am able to fetch only the ip address (192.168.1.102 & 192.168.1.103) when i fetch properties of a network.

the other parameters which i get are link speed : 54 mbps & signal strength : excellent.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
can you change the settings on the DNS servers
if so , set to 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
looks like you have a correct IP address provided by the router

what other devices do you have ?
 

pthadani

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
6
i tried with mircromax canvas 2 & blackberry bold 2 but same result... able to connect but not able to browse
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
may need to reset the router to factory condition - have you tried removing the wireless security in the router settings and see if they now connect to the internet

any other PCs connected at all ?
 

pthadani

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
6
i tried a couple of my friend's laptops, they are able to browse the internet, seems some issue only with mobile devices.
Will factory reset the router & keep you updated with results.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top